A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Stuffed Cabbage to Send Them Home After the Holidays

Life was so good over the Christmas break.  We celebrated with family and friends like no tomorrow.  Since we had visitors, there was always a need to feed.  I’m happy when my people have something delicious and nutritious to eat.

This  fancy take on meat loaf really hit the spot for the ones who had to do some traveling…in particular my son who lives in Chicago.  He was heading back today and this meal sent him on his way with a nice full tummy.100_9791

I had the following ingredients in the kitchen with which to do my work:

  • 1 cup tap water100_9792
  • 1 head of cabbage
  • 1  15 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1  5 oz. can tomato paste
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 medium carrots thinly sliced
  • 2 ribs of celery thinly sliced
  • 1 red onion chopped finely
  • 1 whole fresh egg
  • 1 slice of sourdough processed into fine crumbs
  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce100_9794
  • 1 tbsp steak sauce or Worcestershire
  • 1 teaspoon parsley flakes
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • lemon pepper seasoning (containing garlic)
  • salt and pepper to taste100_9797

First, I steamed the outer leaves of a head of cabbage (about 8 leaves) until they were pliable or about ten mintues.  I poured the liquid into a heavy enameled cast iron Dutch oven.  To that liquid (why waste those good vitamins) I added the tomatoes and tomato paste, along with a pinch of the parsley and basil then heated it on the stove top until it was bubbly and hot.

In a large skillet I sauteed the onion, 100_9806carrot, celery and half of the remaining head of cabbage (finely chopped) in the olive oil until the onion became a bit brown on the edges This was set aside while I mixed the beef, 100_9809egg, bread crumbs, steak sauce, soy sauce and the remaining herbs in a large mixing bowl.

Each leaf of cabbage was loaded with a good dollop of meat mixture, rolled up tightly and placed seam side down, each nestled in the tomato sauce in the Dutch oven.  I  sprinkled the lemon pepper seasoning over the top then with the lid on this was baked in a 375° oven for about 40 minutes.

100_9812Now the  house was filled with delightful aromas that had our appetites reeling.  We plated 100_9813up this wonderful meal and enjoyed the last few moments of each other’s company.  I took my son to the station where his sister and I waited with him a while.  When his bus came, we gave him a long hug goodbye.  I’m glad he was sent on his homeward journey with love and a good meal.  I can’t wait to see him again!100_9816100_9819

2 responses

  1. avian101

    I love stuffed cabbage! I haven’t eaten that dish in long time, thank you for reminding me! Diva, you’re the greatest! :)

    December 29, 2013 at 12:29 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers