A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Steak Soup

100_9898A while back Mr. Delicious and I bought a portion of a grass fed cow.  We have a freezer full of a nice variety of meat now…some of the best meat I’ve ever tasted.  Even the cheaper cuts turn out to be something special.  I’ve already posted a 100_9922recipe for Swiss Steak made with the round.  It was so good I had to make another one.  I did it the usual way, pounding and pricking, salting and searing, adding flour then liquid, then onions and mushrooms and letting it braise for hours in the electric skillet.   Being a rather large piece of meat there was plenty left over.

You could never overcook round steak.  Cooking it only makes it more tender and that’s what makes it the perfect meat for a hearty soup.

100_9929I began by cutting up the remaining steak into tiny cubes.  The gravy made by braising the steak really offered tons of good flavor so I made sure to reserve a bit of it to add as well.  In a heavy 100_9931enameled pot, I sauteed the usual vegetables…carrots, celery, and onion.   Frozen green beans cut in small segments were also added.  I want this 100_9934soup to have good body so I sprinkled about three tablespoons of flour over  the vegetables, stirred it all in and let it cook a minute or so to form a brown layer on the bottom of the pan.

A few more seconds and this brown layer could turn to a burnt layer so I quickly poured in some water to capture this perfect stage of golden brown and prevent it from going over the edge.  100_9937The water soon began to blend everything together and thicken.  I added the rest of the water, totaling two quarts then added the meat and remaining gravy with all of its sumptuous flavor.  At this point some final seasoning needed to go in the mix.

100_9938Red wine added a deeper color as well as deeper flavor so about a quarter of a cup went in.  As the soup began to boil, two teaspoons of salt and a teaspoon of pepper didn’t hurt.  100_9943Finally, to give it a hit of zippy tang I added about three tablespoons of A-1 sauce (I would never put this on a steak but I love how the stuff adds brightness to sauces and soups like this).

All that this soup needed now was to simmer and let its variety of colors and flavors blend and become a very special tasting soup.  In the wintertime in St. Louis (or really anywhere) enjoying a soup like this is a perfect way to stay happy and warm.

100_0039

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Excellent! I’m a soup person, years ago at my parent’s home if there was no soup it wasn’t called a dinner! :)

    February 10, 2014 at 11:50 am

  2. The Editors of Garden Variety

    Wow, you soup looks scrumptious!

    February 10, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    • Thanks! The absence of leftovers makes me think you’re on to something. :)

      February 10, 2014 at 4:19 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers