A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Soup du Jour

Since it is a frosty day in the Mid-west, I think it’s a day for some soup.  I’ve fired up the crock-pot and tossed in a few of the things I’d like to have all warm in my tummy. 

De-hydrated Veggie Soup

Dehydrating is an old old way of storing food for the for the lean season.   It really is a good idea who ever thought of it.  Dehydrated foods store so much longer than even canned foods if done properly.  Moist places are where mold and bacteria are happiest.  Take the H2O out of the equation and food can be stored for up to 25 years, yes, a quarter of a century!  That’s pretty amazing!  To add to the amazement, your money spent years ago pays off in the future.  For one, it tastes great once reconstituted, and prices of food almost always go up.  So if you paid a dollar for a bunch of broccoli and three or four years from now if (even more likely, when) economy goes down the tubes,  you have a healthy vegetable with everything in it but the water, it’s is paid for, and it is already prepared.  All you have to do is throw it in some hot water for an hour or less, maybe add some butter and salt and there you go…delicious as the day you bought it. 

Veggie Soup With De-hydrated Veggies

I’ve got my crock pot full right now of the dried vegetables and spices pictured above.  There are  black-eyed peas, broccoli, green beans, tomatoes, corn, carrots, onions and potatoes.  For flavor I have parsley, a steak blend of seasonings like garlic, salt, pepper, thyme, there is celery salt, turmeric, and bouillion cubes.    The picture to the right is just a half an hour into the cooking.  I will continue to cook this on high heat in the crock-pot until the potatoes are tender.  That gives me enough time to roast a whole chicken, make some biscuits and be the diva that I am when Hubby and the kids gets home.   Now Don’t tell anyone I’ve spent more time on the computer than I have in the kitchen. ; )

I'd love to read your thoughts.

