A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Soothing Soup with a Dash of Magic

Nice Hot Soup

When the thermometer reaches the teens, I reach for chicken soup!  Not the stuff in the can but with fresh chicken, carrots, celery and herbs I reach for so much more than just soup.  Noodles slide down like silk and the tasty broth warms me from my nose to my toes.  I mean it!  I was freezing a half an hour ago and since I’ve made this soup and had a taste, I’m as warm as a kitten curled up by the fire. 

Chicken Noodle Soup

This soup is special to me for another reason…a heart warming reason.  It was the first thing I cooked for my husband just before we got engaged ages ago.  Since he’s still around I think this soup contains a bit of magic as well.  He’s nodding his approval with twinkling eyes right at this moment.

Start with a good pot, put a dab of olive oil in and heat on high.  Add 2 sliced carrots, 2 stalks of sliced celery and cook stirring often to prevent over browning.  When carrots are tender add a few dashes each of garlic powder, onion powder, pepper and parsley flakes.  Pour in two quarts water, 5 chicken buillion cubes and bring to a boil.  Add a whole chicken breast without skin and boil for ten minutes.  Remove chicken and add two cups of wide egg noodles.  Boil for another twelve minutes.  Remove chicken from bones unless you have used boneless breasts, dice into ½ inch cubes and replace into the boiling broth.  Continue boiling for another minute or so to bring the chicken up to temperature.  Shut off the flame and allow to cool slightly and enjoy a bowl of magic!

I'd love to read your thoughts.

