A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Natural Sugar High

I was craving sweets today but I didn’t want to load up on sugar…at least not the white stuff.  I chose to exercise restraint by making a salad with high natural sugar content. 
Onions, carrots, beets, raisins, and honey mixed in with the dressing satisfied this urge completely.  Now, all those Girl Scout Cookies laying around will stay safe in their boxes.  To begin, I sliced some carrots and onions in elegant matchstick pieces.  I gave them a softening in a skillet with bacon, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  I then added about 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, let that warm up and removed the vegetables promptly.  With the seasoned vinegar as a base for the dressing I decided that this salad would need more sweetness to off-set the acidity of the vinegar.  In went a balance of 1/4 cup honey.  To thicken this dressing a little, spicy brown mustard was in order.  That seemed to do the trick.
Then on a bed of baby leaf spinach I put some of the match sticks of onion and carrot.  Beets cut in strips the same way added another dimension of color and flavor and especially the sugar I was craving.  The dressing needed a little more honey and a little salt and pepper to tweak it to a nicely balanced mixture.  When that was corrected, I drizzled some on top of my salad.  I added some of my favorite things to garnish a salad the way I like, such as raisins, feta cheese and walnuts.  With another dash of pepper I was ready to put my sugar cravings to rest.  And I did.

One response

  1. Yum! 😀

    March 3, 2011 at 2:49 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

