A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Potato Soup in Fifteen Minutes

Today had a chilly start, and that always gets me in the mood for soup.  I had these ingredients staring at me from the vegetable drawer so I gave them a wash, a peel and a chop, and voila!  In no time I was enjoying a bowl of warm and tasty goodness. Mmm!

Well, to begin, that giant potato had a go in the microwave for about 7 minutes.  This gave me time enough to  wash, slice, dice, and saute the veggies.  When the potato was done, I opened the skin to allow it to cool to a point where I could handle it.  While it was cooling,  I got back to the pot where the vegetables were getting nicely browned and smelling heavenly.  I had a jar of roasted red peppers in the ‘frige as well and I thought a piece of that diced up would look pretty among all the green, white, and brown color.  So now heat was building quickly and it was time to add liquid to deglaze all of those caremelized flavors into a saucy base.   I added about 1/3 cup of dry white wine, I let that reduce for about a minute, then added some light cream for richness. 

Then it only took  5 minutes more to add 2/3 cup of potato flakes from a box of instant mashed potatoes, a cup of milk, and let that bubble.  Then I added about a cup and a half of beef broth.  Chicken broth would work as well, but  I just wanted to use up what I had in the ‘frige.  While that was coming back to a boil I cut the now cooler potato into small cubes.   

That was tossed into the soup, then everything was about ready to be served.  I gave it a taste and found that a little more salt and pepper was in order as well as a half a teaspoon of Tabasco for that special zing to make it complete.  Just what the Diva ordered!

I'd love to read your thoughts.

