A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Pre-made + Home-grown = Berry Sweet Breakfast

Had to get an early start this morning and I wanted a quick way to feed everyone something special.  Cereal would have been fast but wouldn’t be the thing to evoke much happiness.  What I needed this day was a positive atmosphere.  I had several deadlines to meet, there was no time for complaints, and this breakfast really headed grumpy morning moods off at the pass.  

In just 20 minutes or so it all came together.  The secret of my success was mixing pre-made with home-grown.  The pre-made part is a can of croissant pastry…the kind you bang on the counter and out pops the dough.  I separated them as they are perforated into little triangles and placed them on a baking stone.  (As you can see in the photograph my stone gets lots of use and is not dirty just well seasoned)  For the filling I used a package of room-temperature cream cheese, one egg, and about 1/4 cup of sugar, mixed it in a bowl with a fork, and spooned a dollop onto the center of each triangle.  

Here’s the home-grown part:  It’s blackberry season here in the midwest and I happen to have a few canes growing just outside the back door by the garden gate.  I put my slippers on, went out and picked a handful or two of some good ones.  Before any of the neighbors saw me (I hope) I ducked back inside, washed them off, dried them, and placed a few on each of the dollops then started wrapping them up into little packages of love by winding the corners around the filling and tucking them under to seal it in.  I’ve made these before with cherry pie filling in a previous entry called “Two Ingredient Wonder”  This pre-made pastry’s uses are many.  I’ve tried to make my own puff pastry dough but it is a day long process of rolling, buttering, folding and chilling over and over until you achieve 36 layers.   It is very good but his way, you simply pop, unravel, fill, and bake in a 375° oven, all within about 20 minutes. 

So when they were finished I mixed about 1/4 cup of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of milk to make a simple glaze which I dripped and drizzled on each of the golden brown danishy treats.  Once they cooled they were ready to greet the morning zombies.  It was fun to watch them come to life with smiles on their faces.  Really, who could be in a bad mood with a breakfast like this?

One response

  1. These look yummy! Love the simplicity & presentation.

    June 8, 2011 at 10:50 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

