A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Savory Summer Ceviche

Not exactly raw fish, ceviche (suh-VEE-chay) is “cooked”  by the acids in lemon and lime juice.  I made some today that was served in little cucumber cups…a nice Summery way to dish up this zesty first course.  Tilapia was the fish I had on hand.  It needed to thaw but not completely.  I just put them under cold water for a few minutes.  Because they were a little bit freezy in the middle, it was easy to chop into tiny cubes.  To make the cups I used a cheese slicer to slice off thin strips from a fat cucumber.  I only wanted to use the fleshy parts.  Once I got down to the seeds I started slicing from the other side.  I cubed up another cucumber into tiny cubes, again avoiding too many seeds.  I then juiced the lemon and lime and in a mixing bowl.  I added the tilapia then some avocado in a small dice.  More tiny dicing of a poblano pepper, about 3/4 cup of onion, and some finely chopped cilantro…a nice round tablespoon of it.  Next I diced a tomato, salted it on a few paper towels to allow the excess juice of it to be left behind.  Adding the diced cucumber last, I let it drain off some of it’s juice as well.  To give it all a little gloss and extra flavor about a tablespoon of olive oil, a handful of chopped spanish olives, and a good sprinkle of garlic powder went in. Then everything needed a rest in the refrigerator to give the lemon and lime juices a chance to do their stuff. 

After about an hour it all needed a toss and a little more chill time.  Another half hour did it.  The fish took on a whiter shade as if it were in the oven a while and all the flavors came together.  I spooned some into all of the cucumber cups which were on little cucumber planks to hold the bottom together, garnished the plate with some cilantro and everyone helped themselves to a nice little appetizing salad.  A nice taco supper followed, then a slice of sweet potato pie was waiting anyone who had room for dessert.

One response

  1. Your entire meal sounds like it was delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe for the cheviche.

    July 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

