A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Little Nice in St. Louis

I’m always perusing the ‘fridge and the pantry for something different, something healthy, and something that will make me stop perusing.  Isn’t that what we all need…to get away from food, yet when we have food, make it a great get-away? 

It’s a beautiful Summer day with puffy white clouds sailing by, reminding me of Mediterranean beaches.  I don’t feel like cooking just for myself and I don’t want to spend money either…yet something from, say, Nice would be nice…and this salad was a sumptuous solution of complete satisfaction without ever leaving St. Louis. 

You don’t really need lettuce to have a great salad but you could add it if you wanted.  All these ingredients are things I almost always have on hand.  What I used was a can of tuna, 1/4 cup of tiny cubed ham or turkey ham, half a can of green beans, two mushrooms sliced thin, a slice of onion finely diced, half of a yellow pepper also diced, about six or seven small spanish olives and a splash of the juice, a handful of grape tomatoes cut up.  For the dressing, I used a good squeeze of lemon juice, a teaspoon of cider vinegar, another teaspoon of light Caesar salad dressing, and yet another teaspoon of olive oil, then salt and pepper. 

I gave it all a toss then sat and ate the whole thing because I hadn’t eaten anything all day.  It was so impossibly tasty!  Now I’m going to go for a long walk while I digest this supremely divine lunch and daydream about being on the beach.

2 responses

  1. Your salad looks divine! Definately a thumbs up for creative cooking.

    September 13, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    • Thank you so much for the compliment and thumbs up! (I’m humbled because I didn’t really even cook)

      September 13, 2011 at 6:01 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

