A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Another Great Pressure Cooker Meal for Five for Only $10

A while back my supermarket had a sale on chuck roast.  I found a nice 3 lb one for only $8.  It was August and a pot roast just wasn’t right for heat wave type weather, so it went into the freezer for a while.  Now that it’s October, I can stand to cook something warm and cozy like this.  So for another $2 I picked up some fresh carrots and celery.  I always have onions in the drawer of the ‘fridge and was lucky to have a nice bottle of Sam Adams Octoberfest beer there too.  With that, about 1/4 cup flour, and some salt, pepper, and garlic powder, I made a pot roast fit for a king!  I’m really enjoying making things I would normally have cooked for hours in just an hour or less with my pressure cooker I got off Craig’s List about a month ago.  I’ve used it to make soups, stews, beans, and even a pulled pork banquet for 30. 

For this pot roast I plugged in the cooker and set it to 350°.  I rubbed sea salt and pepper and a dash or two of garlic powder on both sides of the meat and in a tablespoon or so of olive oil, I seared both sides for about 2-3 minutes with a roughly chopped onion tucked all around the sides.  I removed the meat and let the onions turn clear and get a little brown on the edges.  Then I added the beer plus a slurry of flour and water (1/4 cup flour and 1 cup water well mixed) to the onions and stirred everything together. 

Using the rack that came with the cooker was important in keeping the meat from being boiled and from getting scorched on the bottom.  An oven proof plate might also do the same thing as the rack.  With the meat on the rack, just touching the liquid on the bottom, I roughly chopped about 4 stalks of celery and 4 thick chunky carrots and arranged them around and on top of the meat.  I had a few pieces of leftover red and yellow pepper in a ziplock and threw those in as well.  The onions remained in the bottom and cooked until they were dissolved into the liquid with all of their caramelized flavor.  I placed the lid on and let the roast and vegetables steam under pressure for an hour.  When the hour was over I turned off the heat and let the pressure die down all the way. 

My cooker won’t allow removal of the lid unless the pressure is level or nearly so.  It also has a release valve to be sure the pressure is gone.  Steam can give a nasty burn and I appreciate this safety feature.  After another 15 minutes I was able to safely remove the lid and was amazed at how tender the meat and the carrots were.  The sauce in the bottom had some lumps in it from the onions and a tiny bit of scorched not burnt bits, just enough to give it a salty savory flavor.   I put this liquid through the processor to smooth out the lumps, and this made it into a rich gravy to pour over everything once it was on the serving platter. 

My husband thinks it’s a sin to serve meat without potatoes, so for him, and anyone else who wanted them, I whipped up some instant ones.  I prefer real but didn’t have any on hand and I thought the meat and vegetables would have been just fine.  I do have to admit that I had some though, and for fake potatoes, they tasted pretty good with that delicious gravy.  Extra walking tomorrow!

2 responses

  1. I have always wanted a pressure cooker, because I hear they cook foods wonderfully! Some day…lol As for now, your dinner looks delicious! Especially those creamy mashed potatoes!

    October 7, 2011 at 12:44 am

    • Thank you Ari! Instant potatoes really can do in a pinch. I wish everyone could have a pressure cooker too. Saves tons of time…and yes, the flavors really get cooked in. I got ours off Craig”s List for a song (not that anyone would pay 30 bucks to hear me sing) but new they’re about $100.

      October 7, 2011 at 10:25 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

