A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Way Too Easy Chicken Casserole

It was one of those busy days that I had to dream up something for dinner for five but everything was either frozen or in a box or can or would require some time and effort to prepare.  Within an hour though, thanks to  the microwave, and no slicing or dicing or seasoning required, I pulled this yummy casserole out of what seemed like thin air.  Here’s how it went:  First I preheated the oven to 350° and used

    • Three large or four medium frozen skinless, boneless chicken breasts, thawed and butterflied
    • about 4 oz. thinly sliced Monterey Jack cheese
    • one can cream of chicken soup concentrated (or any creamy soup)
    • 2 packages instant stuffing mix (one chicken flavor and one cornbread and herb is what I used)
    • 3 cups water
    • 2 tablespoons butter

I thawed the chicken breasts in the microwave butterfly sliced them and arranged them to cover the bottom of a 9″x9″ glass casserole baking dish.  I sliced the cheese and laid it over the chicken.  Next the soup was spread over the cheese and with 3 cups water and two tablespoons of butter heated in the microwave, I made up the stuffing packets in a large bowl.  When herbs and bread crumbs absorbed all the water, I fluffed it up a bit, then spooned it over the casserole and baked everything for 40 minutes. 

The stuffing and the soup made it just too easy to prepare.  Just before it was done I steam cooked some frozen green beans on the stove-top with a little bacon grease, salt and pepper.  It was all so delicious, the chicken was very tender, and all five of us had more than enough to eat.  When ever I need something I don’t have to fuss much over to cook for company I’m going to try this one again. 

 

I'd love to read your thoughts.

