A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Birthday Cake Soggy, I Mean Saggy, I Mean Saga

Oh Julia, I’ll never be the diva you are!  I’ve been trying to make the Genoise Chocolate Ruffle Cake from your video and I’ve had to turn to a boxed cake mix instead.  Technique is everything when making a Genoise chocolate cake, but I’ve run out of time (I don’t even have the time for the ruffles) and I’ve run out of cocoa.  Even the boxed cake mix didn’t do what I wanted.  I must just be having bad cake luck lately.  If a birthday pie were well accepted that would be great.  I can make pie in my sleep!  But the birthday girl is counting on a cake.  

So what went wrong with the Genoise cake?  Well, it fell and the center was still very soggy while the edges were drying out.  They tasted pretty good though, just not pretty.  Folding in whipped egg whites is trickier that you would think.  I worked the batter too much and deflated it.  I didn’t even bother to take a picture.  The boxed cake mix was also a bit tricky.  I wanted the whole cake to bake in a single pan then slice it into three sections.  There were no instructions for baking time using a single pan of such a size, so I went ahead and baked it for 35 minutes like the Genoise cake.  While looking rather high and round on top, it was completely underdone on the inside…totally soggy, not to mention there were a few unsightly cracks on the surface.  I put it back in the oven and let it bake another 20 minutes and checked it again.  It was done alright but now the top had an ugly indentation which resembled the moon’s South Pole-Aitken basin. 

Now I was out of cocoa and out of cake mix.  I thought to myself, “This cake will have to do!”  With a little creative icing the darn thing was rescued.  I sliced it into three sections and iced between each with some fluffy white icing by Duncan Hines.  There wasn’t enough to do all of the cake so I made a chocolate ganache-like top.  I melted 2/3 cup chocolate chips in the microwave in 30 second intervals until it was soft, then I gradually stirred in about 1/4 cup half-and-half cream.  I stirred that together until it was completely smooth.  I filled the crater in the cake with it and spread the rest over the top.  Using the back of a fork, I dragged it around in a spiral to make a pleasing design.   Now, it will be a happy thing to a nine year old girl and her friends…I hope.

2 responses

  1. I don’t even know what a Genoise cake is, but I think yours turned out beautiful and was worth all the trouble!

    November 9, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    • Thank you! So kind! Pressure does have a way of rendering solutions. Click on the link to the video if you ever want to try your hand at the enigmatic Genoise cake

      November 10, 2011 at 1:45 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

