A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Spam-a-la-King?

Since the holidays are fast approaching, I’ve been practicing my technique on puff pastry, trying to accomplish 1728 layers of buttery flaky goodness.  Today I had quite a successful batch using a method I found on YouTube.  I used 2 and 1/2 cups flour, 3 eggs, 2 teaspoons yeast, 2 teaspoons sugar, and 1 teaspoon salt, 1/3 cup ice-cold water and one stick of unsalted butter shredded and spread over the chilled pastry.  Folding the buttered pastry in the tri-fold twice, and the book-fold three times made a really good dough.  Trouble was, I didn’t have anything with which to fill this delicate pastry.  Kids and husband were due home and I needed a quick fix for dinner.  Puff pastry took half the day to make so I thought it practical to utilize it for dinner.  Chicken-a-la-King in vol-au-vents was certainly not going to be ready any time soon and appetites usually arrive with the family.  So what’s a diva to do?

Impromptu is absolutely the way for me.  With a fleeting thought of what would be a quick (meaning what do I have on hand) and easy to assemble pastry dish, this is how it went.  So with Chicken-a-la-King out of the picture, and a peek into the ‘frige, the idea of breakfast for supper came to mind.  I had no bacon but my husband, who sometimes chooses foods I would never dream of purchasing, happened on a can of Spam one morning.  I think of this stuff as revolting but it was open and the remainder needed to be used, as Jeff had made sandwiches out of it to take to work the other day.  I reluctantly considered it as a bacon alternative.    Well, I sliced two thin slices of the stuff, cut it into tiny cubes and cooked them in a skillet until they were browned.  The smell really resembled bacon…and surprisingly so did the taste.  I couldn’t imagine eating it without first cooking it, but according to Jeff that can be done (blech).  Over processed food really gives me the creeps so I figured ten little cubes per serving after a good go-round in the skillet wouldn’t amount to much organ damage.

Four scrambled eggs later, and a topping of  shredded jack cheese,  a very posh Breakfast-for-Dinner meal was complete.   To stay in keeping with my fancy character, this dinner of  such luxury was accompanied by a bottle of Chardonnay for the adults, while the younger had sparkling cider.  I sliced some of the last vine fresh tomatoes as a side, and with a toast, we then dubbed this evening’s repast “Spam-a-la-King”.

2 responses

  1. Love it, breakfast for supper is my favorite. My friend used to cook with Spam when we lived together in University… Spam in Velveeta cheese sauce. Now that was a processed meal! Yours looks so fluffy and yummy!

    November 15, 2011 at 8:21 am

    • I had never had Spam before this week. Maybe in childhood it appeared once or twice. It’s foggy…it could have been corned beef hash…I just remember developing an extreme dislike for meat in a can. Now, In college you gotta do what you gotta do. My oldest daughter calls Velveeta (the yummy creamy processed cheese food me and my 7 siblings were raised on) “Ghetto cheese”, but the darn stuff got her through college as well. There are just those food nemesies….Do you have one? Here, we have a chain, White Castle, that sells these little sliders affectionately known as “Belly Bombers” …tasty but quite potent. In a weak moment I’ve been known to partake. Thanks for the nice comment and for stoppin’ by.

      November 15, 2011 at 10:09 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

