A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

The Life of Luxury on Leftovers

Nothing turns me on more than having a lavish meal on accident,  not spending a penny that you hadn’t already spent on a previous meal.  Well, that just happened today.  Yesterday I made a practice batch of puff pastry to help me prepare for the holidays and today the little pastry shells I made from it were just as good…still very fresh.  I wish that yesterday I would have thought to thaw some chicken and make Chicken-a-la-King.  Today, all I had was some stock that I saved from several days ago and a piece of chicken thigh.  There were also a few odd vegetables in the crisper.  Carrots and broccoli would add a good bit of color.  So it seemed that I would have something like Chicken-a-la-King after all. 

Often in the day it’s just me to feed for lunch and today was one such occasion.  With about a third cup of the stock, a tablespoon or two of flour, salt, and pepper I made a roux in the skillet then added water and simmered everything into sauce over low heat.  I pulled apart pieces of the chicken and tossed them in.  For the veggies, I quickly softened them in the microwave for a minute then tossed the colorful tidbits into the skillet to finish simmering for a few more minutes.  The pastry shell was large enough to accommodate a good helping of this saucy chickeny mixture and once the sauce was thick enough,  I spooned it into the pastry shell and let me tell you,  it made an amazing lunch!  There was even enough for another serving for someone else.

I could have easily gone out to buy something convenient to eat or worse something extravagantly fancy and expensive.  Either way I would have spent a fair bit of money needlessly, when I had a meal fit for royalty in my own comfy home for nearly nothing.  Even if you make this with store-bought pastry, 12 oz. of pastry is nearly $7.oo.  Homemade, it’s more like .75¢ per pound (1lb.=16 oz.).  You can have champagne taste on a beer budget simply for the love of cooking.

2 responses

  1. Don’t you love it when you can make something beautful with a few things you have on hand?

    November 29, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    • Thank you, it’s what I live for! (and the baking stone is the secret to baking gorgeous puff pastry)

      November 29, 2011 at 2:45 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

