A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Snuggle Up To A Bowl Of Chili

As I watch the leaves float out of the trees from the kitchen window, I am inspired to make a warm Novermebery dish.  Chili is the only thing that comes to my mind.  It is the easiest, and fastest thing I can put together.  It’s noon on a Saturday, we don’t want to go out just now because it’s too cold and windy.  So it’s unanimous, we all want the same thing for a change.  I proceed to gather my ingredients which are:  (you’re not going to believe it)

  • a can of chili with beans,
  • a can of chili without beans,
  • a can of chili beans,
  • a can of diced tomatoes,
  • a tablespoon of olive oil,
  • a medium onion diced,
  • a half pound of 80/20 ground beef, 
  • one and a half tablespoons chili powder 
  • one half tablespoon of cumin.

The canned ingredients make it a fast fix otherwise I’d be stewing tomatoes and simmering beans and meat all day.  Some other day though… I start by browning the onions in olive oil.  When they are clear and have golden brown edges, I add the meat and spices.  That cooks until it is well done, then I start opening cans.  First is the tomatoes, juice and all, to deglaze the pan a bit, then I add the cans of chili and the beans.  It all simmers for about 25 minutes and we get to eat our lunch while the wind howls and blows the last few leaves from the trees out back.

4 responses

  1. What a perfect meal for a chilly winter day!

    November 19, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    • Ooo it was! Looking forward to these leftovers too.

      November 20, 2011 at 9:38 am

  2. So yummy, this looks perfect for tonight here.. it’s sooo cold!!

    November 20, 2011 at 10:21 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

