A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Pie-saster

It was going along so well.  I got a sweet potato pie done, a pumpkin pie, and my coveted cheesecake.  The sweet potato pie looked so good that everyone wanted it after dinner last night and family came all the way from Chicago to stay the night.  So why not have some.   I cut it and we all enjoyed a slice.  I could make another one for the big day.  Well, the last pie to do before nightfall was the pumpkin, and I thought with my one year old nephew about I would leave this pie outside to cool…should be safe out there right?  …Um, wrong!  

Evidently the vermin celebrate their thanksgiving the day before.  I had forgotten about the pie for several hours with having company to put up for the next two nights.  I got them settled in and remembered the pie now out there in the dark.  When I got it into the light of the kitchen I noticed a few bites missing.  Aaahhhrrrgg!  I believe the baby opossum that I’ve been seeing lately found his way to the delicious smell.  Funny thing was, he didn’t like the crust at all but there were little nibbles out of the custard part. 

It was only damaged on one side so I thought that if I just cut it in half and put it with the half of sweet potato pie I wouldn’t go to my sister’s without pumpkin pie.  Half a pie is better than none at all.  I could have sworn that I had another can of pumpkin puree and could whip up another pie but I must have been seeing things…can of beans with a similarly colored label. 

Today I am making another pie but I’m thinking I’ll be going to the celebration with a pie and a half of sweet potato pie, and a half of a pumpkin pie.  After all, it’s not the pie plate half empty,  it is still completely full, right?  Doubt and second thought are now creeping in for trying to pass off an imperfect pie…one that was OK (It had what looked like two child size bites out of the custard part) but was just in close proximity to an opossum.  It’s starting to sound wrong….very wrong. 

The cheesecake was safe in the freezer all night, but as it turned out I couldn’t, with a clear concience, serve a pie that was nipped upon by a decent sized rodent… even if it was way on the edge and two tiny bites.   So I scrapped the pie that, after cutting off the bitten side, still may have had ‘possum breath residue on it,  and made a cherry pie to serve instead of a pie-saster.

4 responses

  1. Now that little critter is going to be back every night waiting for his delicious treats. I am so happy to have found your cooking blog. I am looking forward to following you on wordpress. Take Care

    November 25, 2011 at 12:20 am

    • Thank you BAM! So glad you like the blog…and yes that critter has been cleaning up what the bird feeders drop for months now. I don’t often put people food out there but he happened to get a Thanksgiving treat…now I’ve done it! I guess he’ll have a name before too long.

      November 25, 2011 at 11:17 am

  2. Thanks for the comment and I’m loving your blog as well! That cherry pie looks amazing! I’m almost glad the critter got your other one!

    November 29, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    • Ah thanks, the cherry pie was well recieved by the human critters.

      November 30, 2011 at 7:09 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

