A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Healthy Whole Wheat Crackers With Green Tomato Chutney

During the Holiday season I need a break from all things sweet, pumpkiny, meaty, cheesy and greasy, so I put this recipe together as a fun party snack alternative with health in mind (even though pumpkin is healthy, it’s not when it’s in pie, and I’m just plain sick of the stuff).  If you have that iron will for fitness like…  Well, I don’t exactly have that.  I take regular walks…  I do however, have the ability to cook things that won’t clog my veins too badly.  So I’ll go with that, while I think about 10k training. 

This is a vegan recipe packed full of fiber, antioxidants, Omega 3’s, free radical fighting power, low in fat, and all that good stuff… plus, it’s pretty darn tasty!  Here’s what you’ll need:

CHIPS

  • one cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flax-seed
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (for pinning out the dough)

Mix all dry ingredients and add most of the water.  If the dough cleans the sides of the bowl and is soft but not too sticky add the last bit of water only if needed to incorporate all the flour.  I needed all but about a tablespoon.  Cover dough with olive oil and chill in the refrigerator about a half hour.  Turn half of the dough out onto a generously floured surface.  I used about 1/4 cup all-purpose flour.  I like all-purpose for the rolling part.  It keeps the dough from sticking to the counter better than whole wheat.  I give the dough about four of five folds in the flour then I pin the dough out as thin as I can get it without just smearing in all over the counter and  always keeping a sprinkle of flour on both sides of the dough to prevent sticking.  Keep some on the rolling pin too.  Once it’s thin and you’re sure it won’t be stuck to the counter start cutting into squares the shape and size you’ll need for dipping.  I did mine a little on the diagonal…kinda pretty that way.  Arrange them on a cookie sheet or a baking stone, give them a sprinkle of salt, (I press it in just a little with my hands) and bake them at 400° for 12-15 minutes.  Check them after 10 though, ovens vary.   The thickness of the dough is a consideration as well.  When they are a delicious golden brown and crisp all the way through, they’re done.

CHUTNEY 

And now we move on to the chutney which isn’t a recipe as much as a throw a few things in the skillet thing.   Just before Thanksgiving a frost was expected so I went out and collected all the last few bits of produce.  A few peppers made it and a bunch of tomatoes surprisingly came through two very chilly nights.  I let them hang on as long as there was ample foliage to feed them.  Tomatoes in different parts of the garden didn’t do so well.  The ones by a huge mulch heap kept hanging in there.  Luckily I got them all before the big killer frost the other night.  A few potted plants had to come in for the Winter as well.  It’s OK they keep me cheerful.

So back to the skillet:  I used about four small green tomatoes, and an onion.  I diced them all and tossed them in the hot skillet with a couple of tablespoons of the extra virgin olive oil…the good stuff, and a tiny bit of sesame oil.  When the onions were beginning to caramelize, I added a really juicy diced red tomato to help slow down the cooking.  Next, a few spices: cumin, curry, black pepper, garlic powder, and salt.  It needed a little more liquid so I added soy sauce, and mirin, a few dashes each to loosen and deglaze.  The rest was just stirring until everything became soft and chip and dippable.  I couldn’t wait to sink one of those chips into this aromatic chutney.  So here, let me taste one for you…so good!  The green tomatoes give it tang, the onions sweetness and the spices make it exotic.  I think it needs a few snips of the chives that survived the frost.  That would garnish it off nicely for when I serve this to everyone. 

If you’re tired of turkey and leftovers this is a fresh and delicious alternative…and a good way to use up a ton of green tomatoes.  Poor Kitty needs her windowsill back.

3 responses

  1. A yummy healthy snack and around this time of the year, iI need all the help I can get and the 10 k run as well. Take care

    December 2, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  2. What a great tomato chutney recipe – love all the fabulous flavours in it – super tasty.
    🙂 Mandy

    December 6, 2011 at 2:45 am

    • Thank you Mandy, I have just a few precious green tomatoes left. It may be a while before I make this again. (sniff) Meanwhile the Honeycrisp apples will get me by. 🙂

      December 6, 2011 at 7:39 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

