A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Baker and Eggs

Here’s a quick and easy one made solely in the microwave…and well, a toaster too.  Just microwave a potato (thoroughly scrubbed) about the size of your fist or less.  Microwaves vary, so cook on high power what ever time it takes to make  it feel tender all the way through when a fork is inserted.  Mine took exactly five minutes.  Make a ric-rac design across the top by pricking your fork in deeply from one end to the other.  Squeeze the ends until the potato pops open at the seam (you might want to do this with using a cloth or oven mitts ’cause that potato’s gonna be hotter ‘n a two dollar pistol).  There should be a nice well in the center now so crack your egg and drop it in it.  Some might spill over, it’s OK.  Put it back in the microwave and continue to cook at ten second intervals until the egg white is all white.  Do this for about a minute and keep an eye on it.  You don’t want the yolk to burst. 

Remove, and invert a bowl over the plate, go make some toast, and pour some O.J.  Remove the bowl now, and check the egg for doneness.  It might need a couple more 10 second intervals with the bowl on.  Mine was just right by the time the toast was done.  I gave it a dot of butter, sprinkled a little salt and pepper over it and had me a dandy little breakfast.  Have a nice day!

6 responses

  1. Jeff

    I’ve officially switched from a meat-n-potatoes man to an EGG-N-POTATO man! I can’t wait to try this one. Please pass the ketchup….or should I say CAT-sup, Douglas? (King of Queens reference, you had to be there!)

    December 15, 2011 at 1:48 pm

  2. Awesome idea. I love over-easy eggs on hashbrowns and this is much the same concept only without the frying (we all know that’s not good for us). I’ll be trying this one tomorrow morning. Thank you for posting this excellent recipe. I love it when I find something that can be accomplished with my limited culinary skills!

    December 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    • Glad you like it…inspired out of my laziness. I didn’t want to dirty the skillet…also I don’t know how inspired and laziness got in the same sentence.

      December 18, 2011 at 2:32 am

  3. I have never seen this dish, and I have eaten a lot in my time. HAHA I will try it out soon.

    December 29, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    • Well thanks for stoppin’ by! Hope you and “Sweet Thing” get to enjoy a nice warm bowl of it soon.

      December 29, 2011 at 11:17 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

