A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

The London Broil

I can’t always afford to eat a juicy steak, whether because of the fat and calories, or because of the price.  The London Broil steak works because it is quite lean and ridiculously affordable.  When it’s cooked right, the taste and texture are as flavorful and juicy as the fancier cuts.  I like to slice it thinly and on the diagonal to give everyone a fair amount of nice wide slices, or they could make a lovely sandwich from the leftovers (if there are any). 

To begin I make a marinate:

  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire
  • 2 tbsp spicy brown mustard
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp steak seasoning/Greek seasoning
  • a pinch each of salt and freshly ground pepper

I put all that into a gallon size zip-lock bag and shake it all up.  The mustard helps it emulsify.  I place the whole steak in and press out all the air.  I even suck out the remaining air and quickly zip the last inch of zipper shut before air gets back in…it’s a trick and I’m glad I don’t have a photo of me doing this…all I’ll say is, just stop before you suck up any marinate.

I let that stand for at least twenty minutes while I fire up the broiler.  I don’t like to use my best baking pans for a job like this.  I use my oldest crummiest rack and cookie sheet to catch the drippings.  Once the broiler is going, I place the steak under the flame on the upper oven rack so that the meat is about 4 to 5 inches from the flame.  Broil for 5 minutes on one side then 5 on the other, leaving the oven door cracked a bit as not to build up too much heat.  When the time is up, I shut off the flame, close the door, and let it sit for another 10 minutes in the warm oven. 

During this time, I make my side dish.  I forego the starchy sides and opt for a skillet simmered dish of onions and cabbage.  With just a teaspoon of olive oil, I saute about a half an onion then chop up half a head of cabbage into two-inch wedges then cut the wedges into halves or thirds depending on the size of cabbage.  I just love the designs our Creator has given us in nature.  He seems to like things that branch out or blossom.  So when the cabbage is wilted and getting a golden brown I use the tongs to turn it over and let the top leaves get the heat treatment.  I lower the heat to medium and put on a lid for a few more minutes. 

Now It’s time to  see about that steak!  I take it out, let it rest another 5 minutes on the cutting board and begin slicing thin juicy slices for my people who will at this time be hovering in the kitchen ready to pounce on the first crunchy yummy end piece.  Usually it’s Jeff, but Julia beat him to it this time.

I have to resist the bread but for everyone else I simply slice off a bit and slide it around in the drippings in that beat up old cookie sheet…better than butter I’m sure…I’ll just watch….I’m OK,  I’d rather the bread was sopping with renderings than me.  Now we plate up and tuck in!

2 responses

  1. That is one tasty looking London broil. I love the drippings as well. Take care, BAM

    January 21, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  2. Those glorious drippings…not until two less belt notches…urgh!

    January 24, 2012 at 2:29 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

