A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Tilapia With Vegetables And Rice

Hubby and I were out this evening and thought we’d just bring a pizza home for the kids so they wouldn’t have to eat so late.  It was already after 6:00.  I knew they’d be hungry when we got home and cooking something would take a while.  We called a good place near the house in hopes we could pick up and dash home with dinner, but  were put on hold for a very long time.  We were close to home as well as the pizza place and Hubby and I made the executive decision to just hang up.  If they were too busy to take calls, then they would probably be too busy to make our pizzas with their usual efficiency.

So when we got home, some fresh tilapia fillets were waiting in the frige.  This was the alternative to pizza and I couldn’t have been happier.  I just needed to pull a meal for four together quickly because we were all getting pretty darn hungry.  So within thirty minutes, this is what happened:

I cranked the oven to 375°  and  placed the fillets in the bottom of a casserole dish.  In a skillet with a bit of olive oil I made a mirepoix, a mixture of chopped onions, carrots and celery.  I added some parsley, salt, pepper, and garlic powder and let everything cook up to a beautiful golden color.  I then added a can of diced tomatoes and stirred everything together until all was heated through.  This mixture was poured over the fillets and spread evenly.  A light dusting of herbed bread crumbs went over the top of the vegetables and the dish was popped into the oven for thirty minutes.   This gave me enough time to cook some rice as a complimentary side dish.

It’s good to be so hungry when a dish like this is served.  This was so much healthier than caving and purchasing a pizza full of empty calories.  My oldest daughter even commented that this was a better idea too.  The littlest one, who can be the most finiky, managed to eat every bite.  For just a whipped up Saturday night meal I was very pleased with the outcome…We saved about $25,  we ate a very healthy meal, the clean-up was a breeze, and best of all it was (my favorite word) DELICIOUS!

I'd love to read your thoughts.

