A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Chops For My Valentines

We didn’t get snow for Christmas last year but we’re getting it for Valentine’s Day.  So to celebrate both this coat of white, and Valentine’s day we’re having “the other white meat” coated in bread crumbs.   I forget how tasty a good chop can be.  So tonight I make some tender and delicious chops in the oven with Yukon Gold potatoes and zucchini on the side.    Not all of us like breading on things so I leave it off of a couple of the chops but with a little garlic powder, salt, and pepper they turn out nicely too.

I begin by using some old bread ends cut in cubes,  I place them in the skillet, drizzle some olive oil on top, sprinkle with seasonings like salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and a little cayenne pepper.  I toss this around in a skillet on high for a while until the crumbs are nice and golden and toasty.  When the bread is dry all the way through I crush it into a finer crumb, I moisten the chops with a little milk, and dredge them through the crumbs.  In an oven set at 400° I bake them for about 25 minutes.

While they are baking I microwave the potatoes for about the same time as the chops…15 minutes on high and 10 minutes of resting.  While the potatoes are resting I use the 10 minutes to cook the zucchini in a skillet with olive oil and the same seasonings I use in the bread crumbs with a little paprika for that lovely Valentine color.

Everything comes together at just the right time, and me and my loves all enjoy a sweetheart of a dinner together.  Happy Valentine’s Day to all you blog readers.  I hope you get to share a nice meal with someone you love and who loves you too.

2 responses

  1. This recipe looks delicious, nice picture…Happy Valentine’s Day, from Spain ” Feliz San Valentin” 🙂

    February 14, 2012 at 1:41 am

    • Thank you so much! I’ve been enjoying your blog for the last hour…lovely stuff! Feliz San Valentin a usted tambien!

      February 14, 2012 at 2:37 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

