A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Beignet Remorse

I really splurged for Mardi gras making those beignets.  They were very tasty but this diva cannot afford to eat food like that (much).  I mean, seriously, the beignet is a food that has absolutely zero nutritional merit…ZERO!  While my daughters and my husband worshiped me the rest of that day, I can’t with a clear conscience serve people sugar and flour, deep fried, and then rolled in MORE sugar!  I’ll admit they were tasty though and had more than one.  I’ll also admit that making about twenty of them was a big mistake.  It would have been faster to have just applied them directly to my backside.  I ended up throwing half of them away…just couldn’t deal with it.

Now days later, I’m still filled with remorse, and have gotten back on track with exercise and lots of these:  Made with spinach, iceberg lettuce, feta cheese, diced tomatoes, pecans, pepper, and my fav, raspberry vinaigrette dressing…lite of course.

9 responses

  1. avian101

    This salad looks so delicious! I’m salivating all over my keyboard! Good work Diva! 🙂 Let me know the recipe. We have delicious pecans in GA.

    February 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    • Thank you Avian for the compliment! Lucky you surrounded by all those pecan trees. Just above the photo is the sum of its parts…you were too busy salivating to see it though right? 😉

      February 25, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      • avian101

        You’re right Diva! I must have been distracted by the photo! My eyes keep drifting to it 🙂

        February 25, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      • 🙂

        February 25, 2012 at 6:08 pm

  2. Oh, no! You didn’t really throw them away did you? You could have given them to me, my backside is already big enough a little extra wouldn’t make any difference at all. HAHA!

    February 29, 2012 at 7:31 am

    • Oh yeah, raspberry vinaigrette is my choice also. Have you ever had the RVinaigrette at a Longhorn Steakhouse? The vinaigrette there is so rich and creamy and sweet there is no way it is lite and good for you, but it is the best I have ever tasted. I asked about it and it is not home-made, it comes in a big bucket, I would sure like to get a look at that label.

      February 29, 2012 at 7:37 am

      • I’ll have to try it…There’s one really close by me. This will be a good excuse to go out and eat for once… for professional research 😉

        February 29, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    • Beignets? It’s all behind me now. 🙂

      February 29, 2012 at 6:23 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

