A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Yummy Humus

We were going to a small gathering and were asked to bring an appetizer type dish.  Monday is usually a day to do the shopping so on Sunday afternoon there’s not a lot to work with.  I came up with one of those five-ingredient-or-less dishes.  Humus!  It’s the perfect thing for an appetizer.   With no sour cream or cream cheese to make a quick dip, and a couple of vegans and dairy intolerant folks attending the gathering, I couldn’t have used those as a base anyway.  I was inspired by my friend and neighbor, with a wonderfully funny blog about life as a mom, who brought over this delicious humus one day when our girls had a play date.  I did have a bag of chick peas and with a pressure cooker I was able to cook up two cups within an hour. Not much to do there.  Just add the two cups peas to 7 cups water, click the lid shut and once the pressure was built up, just let it go for thirty minutes.

After the thirty minutes I let the steam die down and the peas were cooked perfectly with just a little liquid left.  I like the taste of chick peas made this way so much better that out of a can.

I let the peas cool and spooned out enough to fill the hopper of my mini processor (equivalent to a can of chick peas drained).   I added some spices: salt, pepper, cayene pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, dill weed, a dab of extra virgin olive and about 1/4 cup lemon juice.  I gave that a few zips (scraping down the sides between zips) until the peas were nicely pureed.  Giving it a taste, my daughter and I decided it was worthy of feeding the people at the gathering.  Vegan, dairy free, and ready to go,  I’m off to my friend’s with humus and a sleeve of yummy vegetable flavored crackers.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Diva I love Humus, I eat it once in a while along with cous-cous and pitta bread. You’re terrific! No doubt! 🙂

    February 26, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    • Thanks agian! I checked out your black bird page yesterday and WOW! Alfred H. would have been proud…nice pixx!

      February 27, 2012 at 11:14 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

