A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Fastest Lunch Ever

I have been having a great Monday sitting at the computer…computing and stuff.  Just out the window is a menagerie of birds.  I’ve had a ball snapping photos from my living room but now I’ve puttered away the morning and must get down to business.  I’m hungry and must see about making lunch for one, before an appointment and a few other errands.

It’s a tricky thing making something that won’t be too much but, enough to get me through a busy afternoon and an even busier evening.  Since I live with folks who don’t care for seafood (my husband is a Pisces too, go figure), I endulge when no one’s around.  I happen to LOVE anything and all things marine, and I have a stash of shrimp in the freezer just now for this lonely yet pleasant occasion.

This doesn’t look like more than an odd salad here with spinach, mushrooms, grape tomatoes, a few strips from a leek, and pre-cooked shrimp, but in a few frames you will see a delicious meal appear before your eyes (unless you are one of those landlubbers who steer away from such fare).

Now that this is all warm and wrapped up, I am going to enjoy it for you.  I hope you can enjoy it for yourselves some solitary afternoon as well.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    First I need to apologize for my latest reply message pertaining to the birds post.
    Second, this meal for today is terrific for me, I have only one question, could I replace the shrimp by small pieces of precooked Tilapia? I don’t eat seafood other than fish. But I eat fish at least 5 times a week. I love fish. ( Cholesterol free food) No pork!
    Diva, do you know that you might save this poor hungry guy’s life?. Keep those recipes coming!! 🙂

    March 5, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    • Good for you watching your cholesterol. You could absolutely substitute tilapia in this. No need to pre-cook. Just put it in first (completely thawed if you use frozen). It will cook quickly cut in small bits and be done by the time the spinach wilts.. I will try that too the next time my fish fearing family is gone. Thanks for the idea!

      March 5, 2012 at 5:50 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

