A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Feeder Friends And Foes

Lately the feeders have had some cute little customers.  I try really hard to keep the feeders loaded so the little creatures can have something to eat during the lean season.  Daffodils are the only thing blooming right now so what ever seeds there are, they are from last fall.  I’m sure everything’s getting picked pretty clean by now.  It’s been a pretty mild winter and I suppose the insects have been plentiful because despite the lean season these birds look pretty healthy.  We have tons of sparrows and junkos that frequent the feeders.  This food is making them quite territorial

This pair of Downy wood peckers live in the maple trees right in our front yard.

The starlings have been hanging around too.  Every year they attempt to nest in the downspouts on the sides of the house.  Not a bright idea during the rainy times.

Mr. Cardinal is giving me the stink-eye from way above.  I think I interrupted his repertoire. 

Enter, the foe!

The robber is on the scene!

Oh no!  Squirrel fight!  They are even their own foes.

3 responses

  1. avian101

    Very nice set of pictures! I don’t get any squirrels around here. There voles, stray cats once in a while, frogs once in a while, snakes once in a while and I 🙂
    Today is sunny but cold and the wind is shaking the house! Very windy! I refilled the feeders and before I got in the kitchen the wind had blown all the seed again! Darn it!

    March 5, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    • You wild thing! Sounds to me like you have quite a food chain going.

      That wind sure is on the move if it shaking the house! The voles are gonna love the clean-up. Cats and snakes might help clean up the voles!

      March 5, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      • avian101

        By the way! Is it “leftover” day today? 🙂 Ha!

        March 5, 2012 at 2:57 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

