A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Swai, My New Favorite Fish

Since it is Lent, I’m trying to make fish a larger part of our diet.  I’m really trying to get my husband on board…but not just because it’s Lent.  Fish oil in the diet is recommended for lowering cholesterol therefore promoting better heart and blood vessel health.  Who wouldn’t want that?  I’ve had a tiny bit of success with this Vietnamese catfish called Swai.

Swai, also called Striper (from Trader Joe’s), and technically named pangasius hypophthalmus.  It is a light flaky white fish similar to tilapia, but the fillets are nearly twice as big.  You will only find them frozen here in the U.S.A.  For fresh, I’m afraid Americans will have to travel half way around the world to the rivers of South East Asia.  Frozen fish works for me as I never know when everyone will be home for dinner.  Nothing  to go bad.

To prepare these fillets, I allowed them to thaw completely, then pan-seared them in a spot of olive oil with onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, salt, and pepper. I cooked them on one side for three minutes and a little over two minutes (also seasoning) on the other.

For the side dishes, I re-heated some black-eyed peas I made previously, and made a salad with spinach, slivered almonds, tomatoes, onions, feta cheese, cracked pepper, and a vinaigrette dressing.  Since it smelled so good while cooking, and the side dishes were ones he liked, my husband, the fish naysayer actually tried it and ate every last bite on his plate.  He said it wasn’t fishy tasting at all…and to me that was the equivalent of receiving the Pulitzer.  Hope springs eternal!!

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Excellent my dear Diva, I would’ve been happy if I ate that delicious dish. My personal Chef does salads like that except no almonds but adds wedges of avocado. Instead of almonds sometimes she adds boiled chick peas whole.
    Do you drink wine with food? I do not to often but a glass is good with meals if not wine I drink cranberry juice. I’m not a water drinker.
    Rate: A+

    March 6, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    • Dear Avian,
      I almost added some chick peas to this but opted for black eyed peas as a side legume. I love avocados! I also like wine…a bold Cabernet with richer dishes. An oaky Chardonay would go with a fish like salmon, but I think a good clean Pino Grigio would go with this Swai nicely.

      I’m not a juice or soda drinker my self, and find it challenging to drink enough water, so in the morning I try to load up with a good bit of H2O (St. Louis has very drinkable tap water) before I’m completely awake. If it wasn’t for coffee and tea, I think I’d be dead…that’s a big part of my liquid intake until 3pm.

      Thanks for the great rating! I rate your windy day pics of the birds A+ as well. 🙂

      March 6, 2012 at 11:50 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

