A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Tasty Pasta From Out Of Nowhere

I STILL haven’t gone to the store but I’m sure I can scrape together another delicious meal.  Today I look in the pantry and see pene pasta…a pound of that will go a long way. I have diced tomatoes…as always until the genuine article comes from the little back yard garden.  I have another leek in lieu of onion, a bag of frozen mixed vegetables, some tomato paste left from yesterday.  There was also a few pieces of cooked chicken breast left over as well…maybe 4 oz. total,  a little bit of half and half and a little block of parmesan cheese which I will grate at the end.

I boil the noodles in lightly salted water (1 tsp) and drain them quickly but not until they are bone dry.  I place them back into the pot with a dollop of tomato paste and about one cup of cream, enough to get the noodles wet again.  I’ll set this aside while I get the vegetables going.  I’ve thawed the frozen ones under cold water for a few minutes and let it train.  In a skillet, I get the leeks cooked in a tablespoon or so of olive oil then add the frozen veggies.  I add the diced tomatoes, some garlic powder and Italian herbs…oregano, basil, thyme, and parsley, and let everything bubble a while on high until everything is nice and al dente.  Then I throw the contents of the skillet back into to noodles.  I find a chunk (approx 2 oz.) of pepper jack cheese in the fridge, grate that up and toss it with the pasta, then I crank up the heat again on the big pot and stir until everything is nicely blended and hot.  The veggies are perfect the noodles are too, now all I do is serve it up in a bowl each one getting some diced chicken, and grate some of that lovely cheese over the top.  Time to give thanks and dig in

5 responses

  1. avian101

    I’ve been missing all these delicious dishes because the email notification service isn’t working! >)
    I’ve been trying with my personal Chef to replicate some of your recipes and we are delighted! Today I’ll be eating your Humus! I have tried the Wai Style dish but replacing it with fresh big filleted Tilapia. That was delicious. Diva you are a terrific Chef! I mean it!

    March 16, 2012 at 11:55 am

    • Happy to have you check back in. So glad you and your personal Chef are trying these things…and enjoying them! I made more humus but this time added cilantro and a little red onion it was pretty tasty.

      March 16, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  2. I didn’t have any home-cooked goodness for St. Patricks Day, but I did have a corned beef ruben from Arby’s!

    March 18, 2012 at 6:32 pm

  3. The Arby’s Rubins are as good as any you can buy, IMO.

    March 19, 2012 at 8:52 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

