A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Happy St. Patrick’s Day…I’m Goin’ Hawaiian

…But only in cuisine.   I’m not ready to make a corned beef brisket, but I have some pineapple, beef sausage, green peppers and an onion that was hidden behind the oranges in the drawer of the fridge…and yes, I STILL haven’t gotten my butt to the store.   Well, it’s my neighbors that are going to Hawaii but thinking of them naturally got me thinking of what kinds of delightful tropical platters they would be enjoying.  I thought of this recipe from when I lived at home.  Mom was a wizard at whipping up something delicious for a crowd as there were nine of us to feed.   Hawaiian night at the Bland house was a special night.  So today I like to continue the tradition.  It will be a while before I can afford a trip there, but this easy supper gets me close enough.

I started with making some white rice, then I cut up the sausage on the diagonal and threw it into a dutch oven to brown off.  I cut the onion and green pepper lengthwise  into elegant strips.  Stirring frequently, the vegetables took on a great brown color from the fat in the sausage but before it got too brown I added a can of pineapple chunks reserving 1/2 cup of the juice.  Next I added 1/3 cup of apricot preserves to gloss over all the goodies in the pot.  A few shakes of soy sauce were added, lending to the golden brown color and saltiness to the sweet…my favorite combination.  Speaking of combination, it dawned on me that we’re celebrating an Irish holiday, cooking a Hawaiian dish in a Dutch oven!  Some would call it a melting pot.

When the rice was done everything else was too.  It took only twenty minutes from start to finish.  So now we will sit down and enjoy a nice St. Patrick’s Day meal Hawaiian style.  Aloha!

6 responses

  1. Oh my goodness! I had completely forgotten about those nights!! I remember your mom having some turkey with pineapple and veggies – I loved that!!! Maybe you can re-create that dish? As for this one, I’m gonna nab it and cook it for dinner tomorrow night!!!

    March 17, 2012 at 10:43 am

    • Hi Missy! I will give her a call and see what I can come up with. Good luck tomorrow night…It will flood you with memories of our crazy house, I promise! 😉

      March 17, 2012 at 11:08 am

  2. Looks delicious and colourful………just like the clime over Hawaiian…..I would like to go over there also.!

    March 19, 2012 at 7:16 am

    • Thank you Katya! I’ll race you to Honolulu! 😉

      March 19, 2012 at 4:29 pm

  3. avian101

    I’m sure I’ll love this dish, I can taste it now just looking at the photograph! Another hit Diva! 🙂
    Try green mango diced instead of pineapple and see if you like it. I like the rice steamed, no salt (Chinese style)
    Q: Why is it I don’t get your newsletters anymore? I’ll try unfollowing and then press follow again to see what happens.

    March 19, 2012 at 11:52 am

    • Thank you Avian! I think mango would be a wonderful thing in this dish. I use the Mt. Fugi method (www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVd3FsR8wHE) for making rice consistently fluffy no matter how much you cook.
      As to why you don’t get notifications I can’t say. I’m not an IT person but since I linked you in the entry about old cookbooks I started noticing your absence in comments. Maybe the link had something to do with it? Glad to catch back up though 🙂

      March 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

