A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Eating Six Vegetables Before 8:00am

Don’t you just crave green vegetables sometimes?  Man, I sure have lately!  It’s Spring and many perennial flowers have poked through the soil but  there is only wild lettuce in the garden right now.  I’ve been eating a lot of it in salads but I discovered today that it is delicious when cooked also…a bit like spinach.  It was even more delicious when I cooked it up with all these other vegetables.  I used two good size ribs of bok choy, about a fourth of a green pepper, a small leek cut in bits, some quartered grape tomatoes, a couple of sliced button mushrooms and two good handfuls of the lettuce.

All this simply added to a skillet with a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper and a few shakes of soy sauce made me and my daughter the best breakfast!  It only took a few minutes to wilt down the lettuce and yes, my nine year old ate six kinds of vegetables before 8:00am!  Oh happy Day!

10 responses

  1. avian101

    Hi Diva, this recipe is already scheduled in my menu for new dishes to try. We still have Humus in the fridge it was very good, we’ll never buy any commercial Humus again! Thank you!
    Q: What’s 2162? Don’t tell me is how many recipes you’ve done!!
    Do you like Chinese food? I love it!

    March 23, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    • Hi Avian, Glad you are enjoying the humus. Home made is always best isn’t it? I can’t always avoid the can but in the case of legumes, I can wait an hour for the pressure cooker to make them. It’s way better tasting and much more economical too.

      As for the 2162, I’m guessing here that since I forgot to put in a title, WordPress gave me a digital one. I quickly updated it though, you’re pretty fast on the draw! I’m flattered. Thank you.

      As for Chinese…Is General Tso married? I love it too I will have to post something along those lines soon.

      March 23, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      • avian101

        Thank you Diva, I’m happy for the meals and have a bit of fun with you as a friend too! 🙂

        March 23, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      • 🙂

        March 23, 2012 at 1:47 pm

  2. How awesome that you’ve eaten this for breakfast and even more awesome that you took the time to make this in the morning!! You are so healthy and this looks so savory!!

    March 23, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    • Thank you! I’m trying to eat healthier. My body sure needs a Spring cleaning. This was way more exciting than oatmeal but took even less time. Really easy.

      March 23, 2012 at 10:04 pm

  3. Actually I am completely with you on eating veggies and nontraditional foods for breakfast as believe it or not I have a egg, gluten and milk intolerance. This is pure hell for a foodie like me but am passionate about trying new things.

    March 24, 2012 at 6:20 am

    • Wow, I admire your creativity even more. Those are the things that hold a lot of foods together. I would have never known that about you! Your recipes are always so awesome. I’ll be looking at them in a new light. Take care!

      March 24, 2012 at 10:48 am

  4. Oh no, that is just so wrong on so many levels! Breakfast is eggs, bacon, biscuts, gravy, pancakes, etc… NOT healthy veggies. I’ll have nightmares tonight!

    March 24, 2012 at 10:01 am

    • LLLOL! You and my husband may be related! He was at work very early and skipped out on the terrifying ATTACK OF THE VEGGIE BREAKFAST o__0

      March 24, 2012 at 10:52 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

