A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Cherry Pie After Sunday Supper

Easy as pie, that’s what this always welcome dessert is.  It’s so easy I don’t even need a pie plate or even a measuring cup except for adding the water.   I just make a pastry crust, open a can of cherry pie filling, and dump it into the center of the pastry,  fold the edges over in little pleats, sprinkle it with some large sugar crystals and bake it in a 400° oven for 40 minutes.

The pastry crust is the part that takes a little time, but not much.  I’ve made so many pies, I don’t even use a measuring cup any more, but it’s roughly 2 and 1/2 cups flour, 1 cup shortening, 1 tbsp salt and 3/4 cup cold water.  Technique is what makes a flaky crust.  I call mine the smush and swirl technique, because to cut in the shortening I first shave little curls of it off of the ball with the back of a fork and drop them around in the flour, then I smush those flakes against the sides of the bowl, and swirl the bowl around, smushing all around the bowl until there are no longer any thick lumps of shortening.  I know I’m doing it right when there are lots of flakes in the flour as thin as pencil shavings.

Always add the coldest water to the flour and shortening once you’ve made those delicate flakes.  The secret to success here, is to just barely mix the wet into the dry until it comes together.  The less you mess with it the better those thin flakes stay in the dough.  When you can no longer see any unincorporated flour, wrap the ball of dough in film and let it chill a while (1/2 hour is enough) in the refrigerator. When it’s chilled, cut the ball in half and roll it out to as big as you can get it, on a flour dusted surface with a flour dusted pin.

I can get a pie done in under an hour most times and I almost always have all the ingredients to make a pie of some kind.  When your crust is nice and flaky, any thing you put in it will taste good.  I’ve made chicken pot pie, sweet potato pie, peach pie, chocolate pie, lemon meringue, and countless others.  Cherry pie seems to be a favorite pie among family and friends and I am grateful because it is the easiest one to do.  Today is no exception.  So I’ll go to my small group’s meeting with everyone’s favorite pie and praise the Lord!

19 responses

  1. thesaltygoat

    Stop it! 😉

    March 26, 2012 at 1:03 am

    • I know! It’s too easy. Thanks for the fun comment.

      March 26, 2012 at 1:27 am

  2. Wow…I’m just speech less, you are master about making pies…..I love all kind of pies and this one looks gorgeous, I’m sure you had impress everyone with this dish 🙂

    March 26, 2012 at 3:35 am

    • Thank you Katya! I make these for my group all of the time. I might be spoiling them, but these nice people deserve it.

      March 27, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      • I’d love to make part of this group ….and be spoiled also:)

        March 28, 2012 at 1:05 am

      • You have “Carte Blanche” membership when ever in St. Louis! 🙂

        March 28, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      • that’s is great!!!!!

        March 28, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  3. Cairn

    Looks yummy! I just saw Alton Brown do one of those this weekend.

    March 26, 2012 at 7:26 am

    • Thanks Carin! I wish I could have seen a master like him make it. The fancy chefs call it a galette. I think that’s French for “Really easy to make pie without a pie pan” 😉

      March 26, 2012 at 9:07 am

  4. avian101

    I’m sorry no to be the first to leave a reply, I checked my emai after midnight but I decided to wait ’til morning for the reply. Cherry pie ( I’m not making this up!) is my favorite pie but I don’t buy it often because it’s usually expensive and I try not to succumb to temptation.
    It’s the first time I see a pie baked like that, wrapped. It looks delicious! As always you prove yourself to be Diva. (Applause) Thanks for sharing with us simple people! 🙂

    March 26, 2012 at 8:18 am

  5. Oh now! “Simple” is my middle name… and worry no longer about expense. this pie cost under $3.00 maybe closer to $2.00…so that could make “Cheap” my first name….but, um, nevermind that. Thank you for the applause and the lovely compliments. You are too kind as always.

    March 26, 2012 at 9:22 am

  6. I know you make this look so easy.. I think my problem is always in the adding water stage.. I’m not sure what the pastry should feel like so I know I’ve added enough water. I so want to master this!!

    March 26, 2012 at 10:05 am

  7. Hi Smidge, If anyone can do it it’s you! I’ve seen a beautiful pie you made a few months back made with butter in the crust. Shortening doesn’t get as caramel colored when baked, but it is quite forgiving. As for the water, that is the tricky part. Grandma always told me to add most of it at first (always very cold water) and if it is enough to bring it together where you can collect it in a ball that won’t fall apart, you’ve done it. If there’s still some stray flour, add a tbsp or maybe two to bring it together but don’t mess with it too long…It might look raggedy but it should be mixed just enough to where it will clean the sides of the bowl but not feel sticky. Keep trying! I know you will succeed.

    March 26, 2012 at 10:47 am

  8. Oh wow.. this looks absolutely divine. I know I wouldn’t mind having cherry pie after supper if it looked exactly like this. This just looks amazing and wonderful.

    March 26, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    • Thank you for such a lovely compliment! I have another half of pastry dough, I should make you a peach pie with that one.

      March 27, 2012 at 9:22 am

  9. This galette is perfection – and with such beautiful presentation 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Double Jaffa Nutella Fudge Cookies + More

    March 27, 2012 at 5:03 am

    • Thank you! It’s amazing what a sprinkle of sparkly sugar can do.

      March 27, 2012 at 8:49 am

  10. I love these rustic pies. Looks like something out of bon appetite magazine.

    March 27, 2012 at 8:43 am

    • Oh my goodness! Thank you! I just make them when I’m in a hurry.

      March 27, 2012 at 8:47 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

