A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Taco Tuesday

Tacos are always a hit at our house and even better when they are chicken tacos.  First I boil three large chicken breasts for about 1/2 hour.  I set them aside to cool and reserve about a cup or so of the broth to add later.  Next I get some leeks (I’ve been really enjoying them lately), some red onion, and a yellow pepper.  I slice them in small pieces and saute them in a pot in a spot of olive oil and add some spices.  I use chili powder, cumin, paprika, fresh minced garlic, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and salt.  The spices need some liquid now to help the flavors develop.  I pour it in and stir everything well.  Next I add the chicken which is easy to handle now that it is cooled.  I cook everything together with the lid on and let it simmer a while.  This gives me a chance to prepare the lettuce, tomatoes, and grate some cheddar cheese.  Also, I put some taco shells in a hot oven to crisp them up a bit.  That only takes a minute or two, but once it is done everything is ready to go on the plates.  Some people have their tacos on flour tortillas.  I really like to make a taco salad in a bowl.  Start with a bed of lettuce, add the meat, tomatoes, cheese, and crunch up a half of  a taco shell on top.  After all, there is always one of the shells that breaks in half.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Very good Señorita Diva! I’m not a taco guy but this recipe I have to try. The few times I went to a Mexican Restaurant I eat only fajitas and guacamole and the tortilla chips. In California ate once, a couple of times in New Jersey one time in Georgia and one time in Texas. Corona Beer with lime wedge, yes! Thank you for sharing! Muchas gracias, adios! 🙂

    March 27, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    • ¡Muchas Gracias Señor! Me gusta todos los cosas Mexicanos… My Spanish is limited but Mexican food is my fav…the spicier the better…that includes Corona “con limon” Cheers!

      March 28, 2012 at 3:01 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

