A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Fruit Pizza

Now that the produce section is showing some seasonal improvement I’ve been able to include more of it in our diet.  This morning I thought a tart topped with fresh fruit would be a bright way to start off the week.  For this breakfast I used the other half of a pie crust that I saved in the freezer from last week when I made a cherry pie. I  rolled it out  in two round flat disks, gave them a good pricking with a fork so they wouldn’t bubble up, and baked them on a cookie sheet until they were a toasty tan.  In a 400° oven this took about 35 minutes.  Once these were completely cool, these made the foundation of the tarts.

The rest was very easy.  I took a package of neuftachel cheese (cream cheese would also work) at room temperature, and about 1/4 cup of honey and mixed it together until it was smoothly blended.  I cooled the cheese mixture in the refrigerator while I sliced up the fruit.  I spread the now cool cheese mixture generously on top of the crust and arranged slices of  kiwi and strawberries on it around the outside and worked my way to the center with a cute little nest of blueberries.

When the plums and peaches look better I will make one with those fruits in the future.  These were so pretty it was hard to slice them up and eat them…but not quite so hard that I didn’t have two slices.  Have a great Monday!

6 responses

  1. avian101

    Fruit Pizza?…Hmmmm…Eccellente sinorina Diva! 🙂

    April 2, 2012 at 9:12 am

    • Thank you Avian! Always appreciate your visits 🙂

      April 2, 2012 at 9:14 am

  2. Now that looks good, I think I’ll try bananas instead of Kiwi.

    April 2, 2012 at 8:45 pm

  3. Oh, I’ve seen large versions of these, but yours is much sweeter looking and I love the design, the neuftachel cheese.. Gorgeous!

    April 3, 2012 at 12:35 am

    • Well thanks! If I made a bigger one I’d just eat a bigger one, right? I like the neuftachel because it has a third less calories than cream cheese, and tastes very similar.

      April 3, 2012 at 10:02 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

