A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Light Lunch

Well today I had a five mile walk by the lakeside and I hate to spoil all that calorie burning work with a lunch that is too heavy.  The lake made me want fish and the walk made me want something with the good carbs that would also be healthy.  And so the sweet potato is the answer.

With just a whisper of olive oil in a small skillet, I placed a tilapia fillet lightly dusted with flour, salt, pepper and smokey paprika in it, on high heat.  For just two and a half minutes on each side I let the fillet sear.  During that time I chucked a medium sweet potato in the microwave on high power for five minutes.  With a garnish of fresh sliced scallion, lunch was light, lovely, and ready to be devoured.  That walk, and the smells of good food made me pretty hungry.  I am so thankful to be blessed with good health and this good food to eat that will keep me that way for another day. 

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Exercise is very good for everyone young and old, it’s good for many reasons, of course I’m not going to distract myself from the food!
    Ohhhh, Tilapia, Ohhhh! It’s simple to prepare and fills your belly well. Good combination, I like sweet potatoes or yams. What the heck I’m talking about I like everything! But don’t worry I’ll eat well and then I’ll go out for 10 miles and back 10 miles, I don’t think it’s too much exercise with a full stomach, I’ll bring my water! …Besides that all I can drive after dinner! 🙂
    Diva, have a great day, don’t overwork and keep those recipes coming!

    April 3, 2012 at 4:18 pm

  2. Dear Avian,
    I guess birding keeps you on the hiking trails a lot. 20 miles in a day? Wow! Good for you!

    And I love tilapia too…it’s healthy fast food…faster than fast food even, and could be featured on the value meal section. Plus, I don’t have to drive anywhere in my gas guzzling truck. Win win win! Yay! You have a great day too.

    April 3, 2012 at 6:40 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

