A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Waste Not Want Not

The phrase “waste not want not” is what this Diva is all about.  I’m not a hoarder but can find a use for so many things that most people would just throw out.  This salad dressing is a good example of not letting even the impossible to get last bits of deli mustard do anything but make a really tasty vinaigrette salad dressing.  Along the journey to making this dressing you’ll see numerous examples of re-purposing items

Firstly, I had a bunch of fresh cilantro that was looking a bit past its prime so I set it in a sunny window to dry.  The black container was a meat container I washed and used to do the drying.  Black absorbs heat better and it worked very well.  I then removed the stems and put them in a compost bucket that used to be an ice cream bucket.  The compost will be useful in my planting this spring, and the dried herbs will go in a container I saved and washed that used to be full of chicken bouillon cubes. It’s now the perfect place to keep the cilantro handy and dry for the next several months.

Now getting back to the dressing, what I did was add a couple ounces of balsamic vinegar and a couple of ounces of extra virgin olive oil to the mustard container.  Now the oil is used up the bottle can be used as a lovely green glass bud vase when my roses bloom.  This dressing needed a little more, so I added some regular white vinegar, a splash of plain water, a tablespoon or so of honey, some parsley flakes (dried last year and in another bouillon cube container), some onion powder, some garlic powder, salt, pepper, and I then gave it all a good shake.  It was perfect!

With a  little romaine lettuce, some snipped scallion, green olives, grape tomatoes, and a bit of parmesan cheese, my salad got a nice dressing with all those great flavors.  On the side is a half of a home made sun-dried tomato and basil bagel my daughter couldn’t finish this morning, but I sliced it, and it made a nice accompaniment to my salad.  The bagel recipe will be a future blog.  I found a fellow blogger who posted a most wonderful and easy recipe to making her own bagels.  I owe her a debt of gratitude because my family loves bagels, there can be countless variations, and I never knew how easy making bagels could be.  The batch of eight I made yesterday is nearly gone.  And that’s another thing that will never go to waste around here.

6 responses

  1. Thanks so much for the pingback! Your vinagrette looks amazing… can’t wait to see what comes next!

    April 5, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    • No, Thank you! Bagels might just come next…I’m thinking maybe raisin cinnamon?

      April 5, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      • Sounds like a good one! My boyfriend loves raisins!

        April 5, 2012 at 3:15 pm

  2. avian101

    I’m hyperventilating, you do bagels now! I eat bagels every morning, I buy them to keep in the fridge and then nuke them! I’m in Georgia, people don’t eat bagels, when I lived in NJ I had bagel shops everywhere! By the way, I want you to know that I’m Jewish, bagels, matzo, gefilte fish, hallah bread, knishes , matzo ball soup etc. is food i like too and all the other goodies people eat except shellfish or pork (Non kosher stuff)
    I hope that this fact will not interfere with your faith or friendship.
    No matter what, you are still a Diva in my book. I’m enjoying your blog very much and your kindness is unlimited.
    🙂

    April 5, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    • I have a dear friend in Teaneck NJ. I get to hear all about the good food there. I just learned how to make bagels yesterday, and my first batch came out very well thanks to a fellow blogger whose link I posted…I think a Diva bagel shall be forthcoming…after Passover. Shabat shalom!

      April 5, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      • avian101

        Todah, Shabat Shalom

        April 5, 2012 at 3:52 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

