A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Before There Was Hamburger Helper There Was Goulash

Many of us are on the go and the drive-thru is the how to cope  with the pace  But for me and my budget, I go for fast food at home.  It saves the gas and the money and I can have something done in about 8 minutes which also saves time.

I remember back in the day, before hamburger helper Mom put this goulash together to feed the nine of us before ballet, swimming, track running, school plays, choir practice, friends and all the other things you could imagine with which we were involved.  I honestly don’t know how she did it most days after her full time job as head nurse of the ICU.  She used to say she went to work to relax!  I believe it now that I have kids.  Well, none of us ever starved and we all were blessed with good health.

Even though I don’t consider this gourmet or the healthiest, it is far better than the fare from the drive-thru, and my family loves this stuff that I grew up on.

To make this you will need a large skillet, 8 minutes, and these things:

  • 1 pound of lean ground beef
  • 1 can of condensed vegetable soup
  • 3/4 cup diced tomatoes, canned or fresh
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup grated cheddar or jack cheese for a topping

Brown the ground beef in a large skillet and drain well.  Add the condensed soup, water, and stir.  Stir in the tomatoes and peas.  Let this simmer a minute or so then scoop a serving onto the plate and top with cheese.

Though I don’t care much for processed foods, I can’t always avoid them when life is on the fly.  It could be far worse I guess driving thru.  Hamburger Helper has far more additives and no fresh vegetables.   I don’t feel too bad about this dish because it is fast, easy and pretty tasty really…the taste of my childhood.

10 responses

  1. It is always great to have memories of our childhood and seams you had a very good one, nice recipe, looks delicious, happy Easter 🙂

    April 6, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    • Thank you Katya! I really feel like a kid again eating this one. Happy Easter to you too!

      April 6, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  2. avian101

    I think this dish is done so fast and healthier than going for junk food anywhere! My family have not been junk food eaters. In fact I only eat pizza mostly when someone has a reunion and they order something to nibble. I ‘m very fuzzy about food, I love good food, made by people that really know about food. Some friends from my community are moving out and we had a reunion with other friends as a good bye thing. They had ordered pizza and some of us brought some food as salads and some chicken wings, we brought dessert. My personal Chef made Flan and a vanilla cake with slices of apples on a sugary sauce on it. Result: The pizza sucked, I was like eating cardboard with tomato sauce and grated soap on it! The chicken wings were so bad that I took one bite and I almost spit it out! Everybody was almost fighting over the flan and the cake! Even one of my friends that had surgery not so long ago I jokingly said: You’re not eating that, you’re in the hospital a couple of days ago! He told me: Screw you! I don’t care! I’m not missing this for anything! 🙂
    My Mom was a Diva like you! It makes me proud when I see people that has talent and creativity for cooking! 🙂
    Sorry if I bored you! Thanks for sharing!

    April 6, 2012 at 2:46 pm

  3. Not boring, I love to hear more about my readers and what food means to you all. It inspires me to make different things…after all, food (I consider one of the arts) is a universal language. We won’t understand each other if we don’t understand what kind of food we like or were raised on. Our home cooked food tells our story. (that flan and cake sound delish by the way)

    Unless you spend tons of money, eating out is usually a disappointment, like eating soap covered pizza and paper airplane wings. We diva moms know the secret don’t we? Doesn’t it make you proud that you brought a thing to the party, made with love, and desired by even the post-op patient willing to fight for it? No, I appreciate your story very much. As ever, thank you!

    April 6, 2012 at 3:39 pm

  4. Thanks for the childhood memory. I do not think I have even this dish since I was a little girl… Take Care, BAM

    April 6, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    • Wow! I’m amazed that other people have had a similar experience. I guess raising and feeding kids is the universal language after all. 🙂 Thanks so much! You have a great weekend too.

      April 7, 2012 at 9:53 am

  5. My mom would never make hamburger maker from the box no matter how much we
    Begged. She did however make a concoction similar to this.

    Never forget those childhood memories. Those were the set days!

    April 6, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    • How funny! I love that this “concoction” is the stuff of good childhood memories. My kids beg for the fictitious Chef Boyardee’s ravioli in a can. It’s rare but I do cave sometimes. I’m glad your mom never caved…my respect to her. Thanks, and have a lovely weekend

      April 7, 2012 at 9:35 am

  6. I don’t think I had goulash growing up, but I know I would have liked this one!!

    April 7, 2012 at 11:07 am

    • Hey thanks! I remember it being really good in colder weather…and I’ll tell you a secret…Mom used to put a thin slice of Velveeta cheese over it to melt. My sinful Diva pride just wouldn’t allow showing my inner ghetto side all over the internet…but since I’m from the “Show Me State” I must confess it was pretty good that way too. Happy Easter to you!

      April 7, 2012 at 1:05 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

