A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

This Is No Ordinary Chocolate Pie

Though this looks like any other chocolate pie…sweet, creamy, chocolaty, and decadent, this one packs a special punch.  Red pepper gives this one a spicy edge that will make you want another slice of that “je ne sais quoi”.

I think chocolate and hot pepper make the perfect marriage though this is what I would call and “adult” pie.  The little kids might express some measure of disappointment with the unexpected charge of heat in their mouths.  (at least mine did and spit it out immediately) I’ve reserved this one for more grown-up occasions.  Turned out it was well accepted by the older crowd and the surprise charge seemed to delight everyone.

Here is how it was accomplished.  First, I went into my dehydrated stores of last year’s red peppers and put a few in a cup of milk.  I used three and broke off the tops so that milk could flow around the seedy parts inside and pick up that wonderful heat.  By just simmering it about 15 minutes in a sauce pan, it became plenty spicy.  Then I strained out the peppers, put the milk in a jar and put it in the refrigerator until it was completely cold again.

I always have a pie crust in the freezer it seems, because I often make two when I only need one so there’s one for later.  This was the case, with this pie, and I gave it a good pricking to prevent it from bubbling up in the oven.  I baked it at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes and allowed it to cool completely in the refrigerator.

With just some instant chocolate pudding mix, I prepared it according to the directions on the box except I used  that cup of spicy milk and 3/4 cup light cream (half and half) for extra richness.  I poured it in the cool pie shell and allowed it to set for a few hours in the fridge.  You could never tell I didn’t slave over this pie for hours, and who needs to know?  Well, I think anyone who wants to have a hot time at the party should know.  Go on, give it a try!

9 responses

  1. ooh. I’ve eaten the chili chocolate bars, and made chili coco, and loved it. Chili chocolate pie sounds just as delicious.

    April 9, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    • Oh, now chili hot coco sounds cool 🙂 I’ll have to give that a try some time.

      April 9, 2012 at 2:46 pm

  2. avian101

    Oui, oui! L’ Dive is bringing the heat today! You keep raising the ante! I love chocolate! I’m sure this is going to be a hit with my friends. I have a friend that used to own a big restaurant in DC and he used to have the best desserts, especially pies and cheesecakes, he says the White House used to call for those! However they would kill for any of my Personal Chef’s dishes or desserts!
    Mon ami, Merci Bocou! 🙂

    April 9, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    • Wow! You really are connected in the foodie world. I hope your personal chef doesn’t mind instant pudding as the “secret ingredient” It is so much easier than separating eggs measuring cocoa and stirring constantly though. See, I don’t get paid to do all that, so instant gratifications wins. 😉

      April 9, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      • Ahh! And you speak French too! Tres bien!

        April 9, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      • avian101

        Not at all! It’s not what I meant. You know what I mean! 🙂

        April 9, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  3. I do know…you can’t spell in French either but it was a nice try…. Please know I’m fondly joking with you. Must be the spices.

    April 9, 2012 at 3:48 pm

  4. Very cool idea to make it a bit spicy! The chocolate turned out so silky.. and that crust!! Wow!

    April 10, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    • Ha, it’s cool when it’s hot. 🙂 The light cream really helps the “instant” seem less obvious too, and the crust is just my usual “smush and swirl” technique. Thank you for always saying such nice things!

      April 11, 2012 at 10:08 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

