A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Home Made Bagels From Now On

Bagels are the stuff of life around here in the morning!  I’m so grateful to a fellow blogger who posted this wonderful recipe.  I’m not kidding, this is the best thing I’ve stumbled onto in a looong time.  Bagels come in so many varieties you could never get tired of them…from spinach and dill (like the one from the link) to raisin and cinnamon.  The latter is what I experimented with today.  I have a feeling these won’t last until breakfast tomorrow.  So I might have to make another batch…oh, darn!

I started by gathering my ingredients and equipment.

  • 1 and 1/2cup tap hot water
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 package active dry yeast (or 1 rounded tbsp)
  • 4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 small boxes of raisins
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 pot of boiling water

To begin, in a large mixing bowl, I dissolved the yeast and honey in the cup of  hot tap water (about 110 degrees).  I added the raisins and sifted one cup of the flour in and gave it a stir.  When that was well mixed, I added the rest of the flour through the sifter and stirred again until it all came together.  I needed just a splash or two more water to get it well incorporated, then when I could pick it up in a large ball I kneaded it for several minutes on a lightly flour dusted surface until I could feel it become soft and elastic.  Once it was in this state, I preheated the oven to 450 degrees and I rolled the dough with my hands into an oblong shape as big around as my forearm.  I sliced it into sections nearly two inches wide and poked a hole in the center of each section to make that bagel shape.  I let them rest a while on a sheet of paper towel to allow them to rise a bit, then I dropped them about 4 and 5 at a time into the pot of boiling water.  I let them go for about 4 minutes or until they grew to a nice bagel size.  Then I placed them back on a paper towel to dry somewhat.  I used a baking stone with the teeniest spritz of cooking spray so they would release easily and baked them ten minutes on one side and then ten or so on the other, until they were a nice golden brown.

I could hardly wait until they were cool enough to eat.  I wanted to get some cream cheese on one of those bad boys just as soon as I could.  Aaaah!  It was worth the 5 minute wait!

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Diva, you’re the nicest person in the world! You have made my very happy with this recipe! We eat bagels every morning but are the ones that you keep in the fridge and the heat in the microwave. I’d never compare to homemade bagels! Absolutely outstanding post! 🙂 Do you see that little yellow face smiling? That’s me!

    April 11, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    • I see it, and thank you for it. Here’s one for you 🙂 …but don’t thank me for the bagel recipe, thank the darling Leslie P. from UK. She’s the one who turned me on this wonderful thing. Enjoy the rest of your day

      April 11, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  2. My teenage boys will be right over. They are looking at your website over my shoulders and begging me to give your recipe a try…Take care, BAM

    April 12, 2012 at 12:55 am

    • Oh it makes me miss my college senior…he’ll be home in a short time and I bet he’ll want some of these too (if he hasn’t already read this). He makes pretzels that are divine! I bet your boys could tear those up too, It’s a similar recipe except you add baking soda to the boiling water so they brown when baking…and of course there’s sea salt and the different shape. Thanks for stoppin’ by again

      April 12, 2012 at 1:18 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

