A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Quick Dinner With Asian Flair

I was totally ready to make a pasta dish with vegetables and a creamy pasta but my oldest daughter said she wasn’t in the mood for creamy.  I quickly made a change as I was already boiling water.  I added rice to it instead.  For the addition to the rice I kept the vegetables I had already chopped up.  I had a good size carrot and some purple onion but upon request, I changed to bok choy, instead of celery,  I chopped up a little cabbage wedge, some tomato, and some fresh garlic and quickly cooked it all in a little olive oil in a large skillet.  I added some soy sauce, a few tablespoons of teriyaki sauce, salt and pepper to taste then added it all to the rice.  I stirred it all together and added a little more soy sauce, then we all had a quick fix of Asian style vegetables and rice.   My girls love it.  It was sooo good!

4 responses

  1. avian101

    This is a dish that has a great appeal to me because I love Chinese food which is asian, this one has some teriyaki sauce that is japanese but who cares!
    I’ll be eating this dish within a few days because we’re out of bok choy. Who’s that big eyed beauty eating with chop sticks? Must be little Diva I presume. Thank you for the recipe! 🙂

    April 12, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    • Thank you! It’s Asian Fusion here in Missouri, and my two diva-etts joined in the feast. One’s a college graduate (I also have a son in IA graduating in a month) and the chop-sticky one is 9…Second marriage, crazy idea….but it’s all good.

      April 13, 2012 at 12:20 am

      • avian101

        Congratulations for your family, they have a great Mom, ” With your belly satisfied, your heart is happy” All saying from somewhere, I don’t remember. I believe it! 🙂

        April 13, 2012 at 10:15 am

      • 🙂

        April 13, 2012 at 12:29 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

