A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Bourbon Makes It Better

Well, our Cardinal’s season opener was a bust, (darned Cubs) but that doesn’t mean the day was a total loss.  The kids had gone to a movie, we had a bottle of bourbon, a lovely piece of fresh salmon, some baby portabella mushrooms, leeks and a bit of that wild lettuce.  So what do you think we did?  We had the most tasty and romantic dinner on earth!  First we had a little hi-ball while hanging out in the kitchen, we caught up one the week’s happenings,  then I used some of the bourbon to make a rich glaze for the salmon while Jeff  kept me company.

In the skillet I poured about half a cup of bourbon.  To that I added a large heaping spoonful of brown sugar, a minced clove of garlic, soy sauce…a few shakes, salt, pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper, and finally the juice from one whole orange.  I let that reduce a while then added the salmon flesh side down at first.  I let the fish go that way for a few minutes then flipped it over carefully so it would cook the rest of the way skin side down.

While the salmon was covered and cooking on a very low flame, I sliced some mushrooms, a whole leek, minced another clove of garlic and let that sautee a while in extra virgin olive oil. It needed just a little tang so I added a spoonful of fire roasted tomatoes with jalapeno and onion from a can in the pantry.  It turned out nicely.

Now with that lettuce I collected, washed, and bagged yesterday from the back yard, I made a simple salad with grated carrot and some of that spicy brown mustard vinaigrette dressing I made a few blog entries back.

My husband was going crazy with all the good smells floating around the kitchen, but not for long.  The salmon was nicely done…moist yet flaky, and the side dishes were lovely on the plates as well.  We had a little romantic dinner and another hour before the girls would be home.  It’s been a great Friday evening  with my dearest love so far!

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Ohhhhhhhh! Love and Bourbon! Good mix! I’m glad that you get fringe benefits! That’s very nice of you two! 🙂
    The dish prepared is good too!

    April 13, 2012 at 8:56 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

