A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

It’s Good When A Nice Cut Of Steak Is On Sale

While at the store this weekend, I was really just shopping for the usual bread, milk, and eggs, when I stumbled upon this delicious sirloin tip roast on sale for just under $7.00, fresh corn @ $.99 for 6 ears, and baby portabellas in a six pack were on sale for $1.50, so I got some of those too.  This roast would be plenty for the four of us with the mushrooms and corn… I’m thinking for under $10.00, a feast would be happening tonight.

Once I husked and washed the corn, I put it into a pot of boiling water.  I put the steak, rubbed with a bit of olive oil, in a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes, then turned the oven to broil and gave it another 12 minutes under the flame on its other side.

While that was broiling, I sliced up the mushrooms into a pan with a pat or two of butter, got the heat going on that then added about 1/2 cup of dry white wine, and a few tablespoons of lemon juice.  The mushrooms got a good seasoning of salt, pepper and minced garlic and the liquid was allowed to reduce a bit.  I covered the pan and put the flame on that very low while the steak with an internal temperature of 145-150 degrees was done and resting.  In no time I whipped out some of the wild lettuce that grows abundantly out in the backyard, and made a simple side salad.

It all came together and soon, we were feasting on a steak slices done to a lovely medium rare, topped with those savory mushrooms, and the tenderest corn.  The little side of salad was tangy and tasty too.  I didn’t plan on such a feast but when all my favorite things are on sale, or even free, like the salad, how could I resist?

9 responses

  1. That plate looks beautiful!!!

    April 16, 2012 at 7:09 am

  2. The dinner looks delicious, I’m not too sure about that weed salad. HAHA

    April 16, 2012 at 9:00 am

    • Thanks for the compliment and the Monday humor. 🙂 The salad is good survival food, and It really is a delectable lettuce. Not at all bitter.

      April 16, 2012 at 9:19 am

  3. avian101

    Bravo Diva! That steak looks so delicious, saute mushrooms are my favorites with red meat. We do something like that too.! Try doing the same with boneless chicken thighs (I’m an expert for deboning the thighs with scissors) 🙂

    April 16, 2012 at 9:11 am

    • Thank you Avian, Wow, and thanks for the tip. I would have never thought to use scissors but I can see how it would make the job a lot neater. I need to try that. 🙂

      April 16, 2012 at 9:22 am

      • avian101

        Make sure they’re kitchen scissors not regular papers scissors or they get rusted.

        April 16, 2012 at 9:26 am

      • Thanks again. I’ll need to go shopping today…not into rusty chicken.

        April 16, 2012 at 10:35 am

  4. I think my friend Frugal would be so proud of you!! My husband loves a big steak for supper!!

    April 16, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    • Is that Frugal, as in Frugal Feeding? I subscribe to him. He really is good at his craft! My husband also appreciates a steak dinner …especially when I only spend $10 on dinner for four.

      April 16, 2012 at 5:18 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

