A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Pasta Dish Without Cheese But With Yum

I’ve had a little one feeling under the weather this week…lots of tummy troubles.  Sometimes dairy products aggravate these kinds of troubles so I needed to come up with a few dishes with out our beloved cheese, butter, cream, milk, sour cream… tough it was!   Going without dairy was a particular challenge for this cheese loving bunch.  I needed to get my daughter to eat something, and could see that the little peanut had lost a bit of weight.  There isn’t that much there to begin with, so this is what turned her lack of appetite around…Angel hair pasta with mushrooms, leeks, and tomatoes in a chicken broth based sauce.  I was happy to see her eat a nice little bowl of it.  It was the first thing she didn’t turn down or just pick at, in a few days.

I started by boiling the pasta for about 7 or 8 minutes in a pot of lightly salted water.  In a skillet I got the leeks and mushrooms going in a little olive oil.  Then I added a bit of dry white wine…just a half cup, some chicken broth, about a cup and a quarter of that, and a tablespoon or so of lemon juice.  A seasoning of salt, pepper, a shake or two of garlic powder, and about a teaspoon of dried parsley flakes went in.   I used about a teaspoon of arrow root powder to thicken the sauce, so everything simmered and reduced by about one third.  At the end, the sauce had a little more body and the flavor was very nice.  Over the now drained angel hair pasta, everything went.  I stirred it all together and served my hungry little girl.   Not eating a proper meal in a while, she fairly gobbled up her supper.  I couldn’t resist, I had to add a little parmesan to the top of mine.

8 responses

  1. I would love to sit down and swirl up a fork of this pasta!! I hope your little family all feels better real soon!! xo

    April 19, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    • Thank you! And there has been recent improvement. xo to you too.

      April 19, 2012 at 9:10 pm

  2. avian101

    I hope that your little daughter is feeling better. These pasta dish will give her a lot of energy and she’ll be back to normal in no time! I’ve been eating bagels twice a day lately, home made bagels! thanks to you! Today I had the spicy pie for dessert. It was very good! We are using leek more often now, I love all kinds of soups and we add leek to it too. Leek is not cheap at the market! Did you try the scissors yet? take care of your little peanut. My wife and I have my grandson Tyler living with us he will be 2 years old on May 7th. He’s been with us since a small baby. One day I’ll show you his picture.He’s our center of the Universe. 🙂

    April 19, 2012 at 10:24 pm

  3. Thank you H.J. Monday I had to pick her up from school with a little temp. By evening it went up to 102.6. The following days were better and better. Tonight after eating…you are right…so much better. Lots of liquids and love too has her back on track.

    I’m so glad you are enjoying fresh bagels, spicy pie, and leeks in your foods. Sorry they are so expensive. Here they are $2.00 for a bunch of 3 big ones. Produce in the Heartland is like water during the spring and summer, flowing abundantly. The bird watching is getting abundantly exciting these days too.

    I haven’t tried the scissors yet. I have some, but haven’t done a chicken dish this week. I’ll be posting as soon as I can.

    And wow, you have a lot going on with a two year old running a muck….they keep you young but make you feel old around 8:00 or so don’t they? Thank goodness they are so cute at that age. I so look forward to seeing the center of you and your wife’s universe. Take care. 🙂

    April 20, 2012 at 12:10 am

    • avian101

      April 20, 2012 at 10:03 am

      • Oh my goodness! He’s adorable! He will be so big and strong some day. Now if he only had more toys to play with ..hee hee 😀

        April 20, 2012 at 10:18 am

      • avian101

        Yeah right! He’s got a room full of toys and the garage! Thank you!

        April 20, 2012 at 10:56 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

