A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

The More You Make From Scratch The Better

It’s a struggle to make totally organic foods but the more things I can make with fresh ingredients the better I sleep at night.  In the news today there was such a disturbing sabotage of food, I will never eat from fast food chains ever again!  I’ve always had my reservations but now they are confirmed.  There are times when eating out is necessary.  I can’t always be close to home and cook our own foods all the time, but I try to choose places that take pride in cleanliness and service if I can’t cook.  You can tell when you walk in the door who cares and who doesn’t.  Sometimes you can smell it in the air!  It helps if you know the Mom and Pop personally who own your favorite  pizza joint or little bistro.  Go with who you know.   With the internet these days you can also do a little bit of homework and read reviews that clue you in on a restaurant’s worthiness of your business.

My appetite slowly returned and, I conducted a little experiment with making quesadillas from scratch.  I started by making some corn tortillas with corn massa and water in equal proportions in the processor.  I made the tortillas by taking golf ball sized chunks of dough, flattening them slightly and laying one at a time between two sheets of plastic film and smashing them as flat as possible between a baking stone and a clear round pizza pan so I could see through and make the correct thickness and shape.  Each raw tortilla was then toasted a couple of minutes on a griddle with a few drops of olive oil to help when flipping them over.  When I had enough toasted I put one back on the griddle, with the flame down pretty low, I spooned roasted tomato, some pickled jalapeno slices (Ooo how I wish the garden peppers would get going… fresh jalapenos would be so awesome), and a tablespoon of enchilada sauce on it.  Then I let some Monterey Jack cheese melt over that.  I put another tortilla over the top, transferred it to a plate and topped it with more enchilada sauce and cheese, then popped a slice of jalapeno in the center to make it diva pretty.

I’m not gonna lie.   Home made IS always better. Knowing the source of your food helps too.  These tortillas were so light, fresh, and tasty I could hardly stand it!  With the addition of tomatoes, cheese and spiciness I was having a fit of delight.  I recommend making things at home more than ever.  If you are busy at work all day, these tortillas can be done ahead of time and stored in a zip-lock bag in the ‘fridge for about a week easily.  All you need to do is add the middle stuff in a skillet or griddle and it is as simple as making a grilled cheese sandwich, and very frugal too.  A bag of corn massa will make about a zillion tortillas.

6 responses

  1. avian101

    My personal Chef is going to try this dish, I’ve never eaten a quesadilla but I got curious, she’ll give it a shot! Thank you! 🙂

    April 20, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    • I am so surprised you’ve never tried these culinary delights before, but in the whole wide world, you just never know… Well, let me know how things turn out. I hope you all like them.

      April 20, 2012 at 11:54 pm

  2. Where were you when I made my fish tacos, lol?! These would have taken it over the top!!

    April 20, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  3. Wooooh, fish tacos! Mmmm! Thankfully, I made enough tortillas to experiment yet again. (I’ll have to look in your archives for guidance). You could do another post in the future and really go there. I’d love to see it! Have a great weekend!

    April 21, 2012 at 12:05 am

  4. I have never tries these before from scratch.

    April 22, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    • So easy! The processor does most of the work. If you can find a way to smash them flat, that’s the worst of it. Plastic film is a must because the dough is quite sticky. Have a good week! 🙂

      April 22, 2012 at 10:36 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

