A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Veggies And Spice Turns Out Nice

I have been on the go for a while and have been living on leftovers and popping in to make a quick meal.  Most of them have been things I have already blogged.   Today as usual, I popped in for a quick lunch before going back out to visit a friend who just had a baby.  I don’t have time to thaw meat or mess with too much chopping.  I can hardly get away from that though, but with the right kitchen tools it goes fast.

First I used a potato dicer which looks like an apple slicer and works the same…you just push it down over the potato and slice the strips into cubes or smaller sticks.  I placed the cubed Yukon gold potatoes into a skillet with a bottom coating of olive oil…about a tablespoon and a half.  I covered the skillet and let that go for about five minutes on medium high.  I carefully turned them over and let the other sides brown up a bit too.  Slicing a whole zucchini into little half moons, I placed them all on top of the potatoes and stirred them under to get as much of the now nearly cooked potatoes on top.  I kept the lid on but occasionally moved them around until I was sure the steam from the zukes would stave off more browning of the potatoes.  At this point I added some spices: paprika, curry powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, black pepper and salt.  I added a few slices of an onion in rings all around and stirred those under as well.  Lastly, I put in some chick peas to add the protein that would get me through this  busy afternoon.  I’ll be having company for dinner tonight and I think this will make a dandy side dish for later too.  Anything to save time!

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Looks very delicious! The kind of stuff I like! I prefer eating vegetables cooked or sautéed vs. fresh and raw. By the way, I’m half way eating the second hot pie, yesterday we bought ingredients to make more bagels. We were absolutely delighted with the angel hair dish you posted before.
    The filler (Arrow root powder) we substituted with corn starch and it worked perfectly! Thank you Diva! 🙂 Have a great day!

    April 26, 2012 at 2:01 pm

  2. Thank you Avian! I’m tickled pink that you are enjoying these things in your own home. My whole blog is about getting people home for supper. Home is where all the good stuff could and should be. Cheers!

    April 26, 2012 at 4:29 pm

  3. I’d love to be in your kitchen if this is what you can make in a hurry! This looks so warm and filling!! Love it!

    April 26, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    • Thanks so much! Stop by any time… And bring some of those strawberry shortcake cookies. 🙂

      April 26, 2012 at 8:18 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

