A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Cake? Or Is It Bread…Either Way It’s Going To College

In my opinion this zucchini bread isn’t really bread.  When the sugar content is greater than half of the flour, I would think this qualifies it as a cake…but a very delicious cake.

I have an old old Betty Crocker cookbook with a wonderful pumpkin bread recipe, but since pumpkins are scarce just now, I’ve decided to use shredded zucchini instead.  After all it is also a squash and has similar liquid content.  For this adjusted recipe I preheated the oven to 350° and greased two small loaf pans approximately 6 1/2″ x 4″.  I also needed these ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1 and 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 small zucchini shredded
  • 1/3 cup light cream (water could also be used)
  • 1 and 1/4 tsp soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 and 1/2 cups all purpose flour

In a large mixing bowl I creamed together the sugar and shortening with a fork until it was sort of fluffy, then I added the eggs and zucchini, stirred them in and added the cream.  Next, I added the soda and salt and stirred it in as well.  Last I dumped in the flour and mixed that in until it was well incorporated…all mixing done with the fork.

It was then time to fill up the loaf pans and bake.  I baked them for about one hour and ten minutes before I decided to test the loaves with a pick.  They seemed to need just a few more minutes to finish.  About five more did the trick, so I’ll say that it took an hour and fifteen minutes in total.

Now my son, a music major in college will be so happy to have something home baked when I visit him this weekend for his senior recital.  He’s getting a whole loaf to himself …plus cookies.  Man, I miss him!

4 responses

  1. avian101

    This bread must taste delicious! My congratulations to your son, I’m sure he will have a great recital! You must be very proud of him! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    April 27, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    • Thanks! I am really happy he’s graduating. I haven’t seen much of him these past two years though. He follows the blog sometimes so in that way he still gets some of Mom’s cookin’. It will be nice to deliver it in person. I think he’ll like the bread a lot. My husband and daughters sure did. It’s almost gone!

      April 27, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  2. Congratulations to your son. I know you must miss him dearly and he misses mom’s cooking. yummy zucchini “CAKE” Take Care, BAM

    April 27, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    • Aw thanks! Can’t wait to see him. Have CAKE will travel. You have a great weekend too. 🙂

      April 28, 2012 at 12:13 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

