A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Real Fast Food

Chick peas are the perfect food for the fast paced time I’m having.  On Sunday evening I clean and sort them add two cups peas and 7 cups water to the pressure cooker set at 300 degrees and under pressure for one hour exactly.  I release the pressure when it ‘s safe, I salt the peas slightly and with that set-it-and-forget-it ease, I have enough for a week’s use.

Using them for a fast healthy snack or meal is just what I’ve been doing so far this week.  I have kept them in an airtight container in the ‘fridge.  When ever I need either just peas, or to make a batch of humus I have the two options.  Both are things that take very little time to prepare.  As whole beans, I use them to toss some protein in salads, soups and stews.  But processed with some fantastic vegetables, a little spice, and some lemon juice, they become a zesty humus.  With just a few more minutes preparing flour tortillas in an oiled skillet, something yummy to spread the humus on is suddenly on hand.  It’s what I had for lunch today.

Gotta run now!

6 responses

  1. avian101

    Thanks Diva! I appreciate taking your time and effort very much! 🙂

    May 3, 2012 at 1:32 pm

  2. I need more of these kind of quick easy meals.

    May 3, 2012 at 9:54 pm

  3. I’ve started trying a healthier dinner trend and this fits in perfectly. I’m writing it down so I don’t forget, lol!

    May 8, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    • I’m so flattered and happy this works for you! Wishing you the best health! 🙂

      May 8, 2012 at 9:14 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

