A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

St. Louis’ Own…The Pork Steak

OK, I’ve been so good having vegetables vegetables vegetables.  I love the vegetables but sometimes just a meat and potatoes supper is fine.  It’s especially fine if the meat is grilled and the potatoes are Yukon gold.

Most folks I know that aren’t from Missouri have never heard of pork steaks.  They purchase the whole pork butt and cook it as a roast.  We St. Louisans slice it into 1/2 inch steaks and Barbecue them.  It is the most forgiving meat to cook.  Only burning them will ruin them.  You can fast sear or slow roast…what ever gets them done is what you do.  I go sort of middle of the road.  I start off with high heat just to give it grill marks, turn and do the other side the same and then turn them once or twice more on a lower setting then baste them with BBQ sauce until they are just well done. 

If I make my own sauce I use:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil,
  • 1/4 cup finely diced onion,
  • 1 cup ketchup,
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar,
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce,
  • 2 tbsp steak sauce,
  • A squirt or so of spicy mustard,
  • cayenne pepper,
  • black pepper,
  • a pinch of salt,
  • and a dash of soy sauce.

Cook down the finely diced onions in the olive oil until they are nicely browned, then lower the flame and add the liquid ingredients then the spices and simmer for a while until the desired consistency.  Otherwise, Sweet Baby Ray is good and also Bull’s Eye makes a decent BBQ baste.

As for the potatoes, cooking potatoes is as easy as falling off of a log.  I just chuck them into the microwave for a while, depending on the size of potato and how many.  For five medium potatoes I microwave them on HI for about 11  or 12  minutes.  You can do the potatoes first, and while the meat is grilling and resting, your potatoes will be waiting for you, perfectly done and not too hot.

5 responses

  1. Now that is right up my alley. You even have a sauce much like my SECRET sauce! You can’t beat pork for good bar-b-que!

    May 7, 2012 at 7:18 pm

  2. This one was just for you. Thanks for stoppin’ by again. Yay for barbecue!

    May 8, 2012 at 9:08 am

  3. I use Blues Hog seasonings and sauces in a lot of my BBQ. Pork steaks to me should be slow cooked and basted with sauce at the end. It’s fun to know the many different ways things can be cooked…

    May 8, 2012 at 11:05 am

  4. Looks good. When you wrote “until they’re just about well done”, is that well done as in no pink in the middle like beef?

    May 11, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    • Thank you, and yes, no pink in the middle, but just so that they stay juicy and not dried out.

      May 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

