A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

The Cat In The Hat Is Right

Green eggs really are good!!   These eggs aren’t just eggs you purchase at the store though.  These eggs are utterly fresh and raised a few block from our home.  The difference of  being from free range hens, which haven’t had antibiotics, hormones, and have only eaten organic food, is unbelievable.  The shells are a bit stronger in these eggs, and the yellow is so much deeper in color than eggs bought from the grocery store.  When you taste them…Oh! There is a big difference!  Farm fresh organic eggs are so rich and delicious, I don’t think I’ll ever go any farther than down the street to that nice man who sold us these gems.

In our county there are ordinances about having live-stock.  I googled our county’s regulations and found that it is perfectly legal to have four hens on your property but no rooster unless you own a certain amount of land.  All I really am interested in though are the delicious eggs.  I’ve seen on Craig’s List that people sell the hens for about $4.00 each and someone is always getting rid of old lumber and planks of wood to build a coop.  This is so doable!  I have always wanted to raise chickens but now that I have seen a person in my own neighborhood do it on his suburban homestead, I’m all the more motivated to build a coop and start raising eggs myself.  Until then I’ll be picking this man’s brain on how to do it best.  I’ll keep you posted!  In the meantime I’m going to enjoy my breakfast and yes, a smaller cup of coffee. (See my over-caffeinated entry two posts back)

6 responses

  1. avian101

    Wow Diva! You amaze me! Good for you! 🙂

    May 8, 2012 at 2:13 pm

  2. Thank you Avian. Soon I hope to have some bird/chicken photos to share with you! 🙂

    May 8, 2012 at 2:19 pm

  3. Cairn

    A friend of mine is looking into raising chickens as well. They even have a class about it at one of our rec centers. I wish we could, but I don’t think our HOA allows it. 😦 Have fun learning!

    May 8, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    • Well Cairn, I hope your friend can be a source for fresh eggs. There are a lot of videos on you-tube about it. The kids are gonna love it if we really do it.

      May 8, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  4. I would eat them on a boat I would eat them with a goat! I love farm fresh eggs always looking for new ways to use them. Yes build a coop and get some hens you will be hooked, the Ameracaunas that lay that blue egg and an olive green one are great layers. Also limited to 4 hens the Black Australorp lays on average 300 eggs a year so another good choice to get tons of eggs out of only 4 hens. good luck

    May 10, 2012 at 1:09 am

    • Wow! Thanks for all of that valuable information! I’ve checked out your site and I’m really impressed with your egg dishes and especially your $150 greenhouse! So cool! I’m subscribing!…But, um, I can do without the snakes. He he

      May 10, 2012 at 9:48 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

