A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

C.A.T. Sandwiches

Don’t worry our little devil cat is alive and well.  The title is an acronym for Chicken, avocado, and tomato.  I put all this on freshly baked whole wheat buns with a pesto I made from basil out of the garden.

To begin, I use some of the flour my son and husband ground for me last week…2 cups of it, and another of A.P. flour to add gluten and help it rise better.   To activate the yeast, I put a tablespoon or so of honey in a mixing bowl with 1 cup of hot water.  The yeast goes in and dissolves.  Then when foam forms at the top, I’m ready to add flour, a teaspoon of salt and mix it all together.  I just use the back of the spoon in the bowl to spoon knead the dough for a bit, and when it is nice and elastic, I give it a good rise of about 30 minutes in a warm corner (I use Fleischmann’s Rapid Rise yeast for bread machines), coated in about 2 tbsp of olive oil.

By now the dough is double in size, so I punch it down, knead it on the counter for about 5 minutes and roll it into a log shape about 9”x2 1/2″.  I cut 1” sections and roll them into plum size balls.  These go onto a floured baking sheet with another dressing of olive oil…I just use my fingertips, they’re already a mess.  I don’t even know how long I baked them.  It might have been 25 minutes but I checked them as soon as I could smell them.

At that point they only needed a few more minutes to get a nice toasty color.  As soon as they are out of the oven, I take some butter, holding it in its paper, and rub some onto every bun (I don’t want to wash oil off of my hands a fourth time).  This softens the crust.  If you like a crackling crunchy crust on your bun leave it off.  I allow them to cool before slicing them, so I start slicing the stuff that will go in them.

This stuff includes the before mentioned chicken, avocadoes, and tomatoes as well as some spinach and lettuce.  After preparing these things I get a batch of pesto that I made the previous Autumn from the freezer and allow it to thaw.  This pesto was made then with a good handful of basil, a fist full of pecans, 1/2 cup each of olive oil, and parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, and a clove of garlic or two.  It was blended in the processor until it became a spreadable mixture.

Now I build the sandwich by first spreading some pesto on the inside of each bun half,  then I layer on the chicken, spinach, tomato, lettuce, and avocado.  This one gets wrapped up and goes with Jeff who’s working evenings at the P.D.  I can’t wait till the girls are home so I can tell them we’re having C.A.T. sandwiches for supper.  Their reactions should be pretty funny.

10 responses

  1. julia christine stephen

    I have one of those devil cats too…mostly it’s a problem for the dog though 🙂

    May 10, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    • That’s funny…but poor puppy. I’d love to have a dog but our cat would become twice the devil.

      May 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

      • julia christine stephen

        Yes, that’s what happened here. The dog gets his own too though. The cat weighs more than the dog…he’s a miniature dachsund… but the dog chases him around.

        May 10, 2012 at 6:43 pm

  2. avian101

    This C.A.T. sandwich looks pretty good and all the ingredients are perfect for me, I love pesto, artichokes…ok I love everything! My cat VanGogh would be good he’s weighing 21 lbs. now! and Mimi only 11lbs. This sandwich is already on my list! Thanks Diva. Question: Do you have a recipe for a good fried chicken? Let me know. Thanks again! 🙂

    May 10, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    • Wow! Van Gogh could be the first cat sumo wrestler. He’s a big ‘un! Mimi sound about right. Thanks for being such a fun blog pal. You always have something nice to say. As for fried chicken, I really need to get my mother’s advice on that. I never seem to consistently fry chicken well but she sure does. A little Mom time is in order. 🙂 I’ll keep you posted on my progress

      May 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      • avian101

        Thanks a lot! You’re a good pal too! 🙂

        May 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  3. Your cat is hilarious. He/she sooo rules the house!

    May 13, 2012 at 5:48 am

    • You said it! I love her but she makes me so crazy some times. Happy Mother’s Day!!

      May 13, 2012 at 9:49 am

  4. Bill Frisch

    When are you going to start using natural leaven??

    May 13, 2012 at 11:44 am

    • I’m saving it for a special dish…One where you are home to enjoy it…but I will get it started so it develops. You will see it’s progress. I’m just trying to use up my Fleischmann’s. By September yours should be very nice. Thanks for sending it. 🙂

      May 14, 2012 at 12:06 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

