A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Goat Cheese Heaven

When a person does good business you want to return to their business and keep enjoying a good product and good service.  Well that’s how we feel about Ben, our new source for farm fresh eggs and fresh cheeses made from goat’s milk.  Ben is an easy going and charming urban homesteader who is quite willing to show you how things operate around the coops and the goat pens.  He’ll even toss you a loaf of bread and ask you to feed it to the animals while he shows you around.  (that’s what he did with our daughter and she loved it) It’s early for crops to be doing anything in our area but he already has tomatoes and other vegetables started in a patch by the driveway.

All this is just a hobby to this man who is manager of a medical office during the week days.  When he gets home he says the goats are calling to be fed.  They certainly don’t look underfed judging by their size and the big spotlessly clean stainless steel pot of milk he had just attained as we pulled up.  I guess being a manager is his calling, because as well as managing the office by day, he manages a pretty tidy and sufficient homestead farm in the mornings, evenings, and weekends.  All of his animals look clean and healthy, the eggs taste delicious, and the cheese he makes is so fresh, creamy and wonderful.  I just love that quality natural products like this are just down the street from us, so yes, we will be returning customers.

Just for coming for more eggs and being interested in trying the cheese, he gave us a generous free sample of the chevre and feta that he makes.  He also gave us about two dozen recipes that call for goat cheese.  As soon as I got home I tore into the chevre and had it on some crackers with home made pesto, and and olive slice.  Pretty nice snack!

The chevre cheese was so creamy and delicious that for supper I made quesadillas in flour tortillas with beans, the chevre cheese, and my daughters home made salsa of onion, jalapeno, tomato, garlic, salt, and cilantro mixed in the blender. I’m probably going to gain a few pounds eating so many cheese dishes in the future….but since Mother’s Day is this weekend I feel right in splurging.   Too, I will arrive at myMom’s house with something really yummy.  I don’t want her to have to cook on Mother’s Day.

I decided to make a spinach, leek, and feta cheese pizza on whole wheat crust.  It’s the same crust I made a few entries back with the flour that Jeff and the kids helped grind.  Because of the quality of the cheese, this pizza was far better than the one I had made previously.  I started with extra virgin olive oil spread all over the crust’s surface, then some freshly ground black pepper and sea salt over it.  Next I added the chopped leeks and spinach, then on went a good measure of the lovely feta.  I finished it with a few pinches of thyme and a light sprinkle of garlic powder, then baked it for 15 minutes or so in a 400 degree oven.  It was a huge hit with zero leftover.

I can’t wait to go back to the homestead and buy more of Ben’s products.   I like the sense of freedom it gives me that I can purchase and cook with ingredients that are skillfully, carefully and conscientiously made, that don’t need to factor in the pensions of union factory workers, and that don’t need to be pumped full of additives that in my opinion are there because of a previous litigation, not because it makes it better.  Ben does what he does for the love of it and not for profit.  That is the part that money can’t buy.  That care and not an ounce of greed had everything  to do with the sumptious food we ate yesterday and today, has made it taste all the better this wonderful Mother’s Day weekend.    I’m in goat cheese Heaven!

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Wow, this post would do a great commercial for Ben’s Goat Cheese & Eggs Co. Don’t you think? When I finished reading I was ready to grab my car keys and drive to Ben’s and get some stuff! I haven’t eaten goat chese in years! Oh well…I can see myself walking my goats in the Negev desert I can hear the bells hanging from their necks ringing a metallic sound…Oh I’m sorry that was Moses not me. I’m back!
    Anyway, this recipe will be on my list as soon as I can get some goat cheese. Ok? Thank you for you patience Diva and for sharing your wonderful recipes! 🙂

    May 14, 2012 at 9:41 am

  2. When I like what someone does, I like to spread the news. I’m very interested in the homestead lifestyle and the natural foods that can be produced by living such a life. The FDA is all good but sometimes I question what things they allow in our nationally distributed foods, like poor treatment of animals and “acceptable” levels of bug critters. Heck, even Moses left the palace for a more natural life. Glad you stopped by and I hope you don’t have to part waters and cross the desert for a good source of goat cheese too. Take care 🙂

    May 14, 2012 at 9:57 am

  3. Thank goodness you’ve used a large format for that last photo.. I felt like I was sitting down ready to take a slice:D You’re lucky to have an urban homesteader so close by!

    May 14, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    • We are lucky! His stuff is sooo good! What a find.

      And I always like to make the final product larger in each entry if I can… so you feel like having a slice of the good life…Thanks for droppin’ in again. 🙂 Hope you had a great Mother’s Day.

      May 14, 2012 at 5:23 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

