A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Birthday Cake For My Oldest Daughter

I can’t remember having a store bought cake for anyone in my family.  This year is no exception.  I’ve been getting farther and farther away from using processed foods and doing as much cooking from scratch as I can.  It’s quite a challenge and sometimes I compromise.  I looked at the ingredients in a white cake mix and it didn’t look too bad, but the frosting in a can was loaded with garbage.  High fructose corn poison was the deal breaker in using that.  I didn’t think it appropriate to wish my daughter a happy birthday with such stuff.  Only four ingredients to make the frosting sounded much more appealing.

The white cake was a simple cake to assemble with the mix but I did make a modification on it as well.  Instead of using a ton of oil like the directions called for, I used just a can of evaporated milk and three egg whites.  It whipped up nice and fluffy, and baked evenly.

The frosting recipe was on the back of the box of Hershey’s cocoa and always putting my spin on things.  I substituted the vanilla with peppermint extract.  Chocolate and mint are so good together!  I made sure that there was plenty to lick off of the spoon.  My youngest got the bowl and wasn’t complaining

I put the cake together quickly before my daughter got home.  Her boyfreind came over and shortly after Jeff got home from work.  We all had a nice little family party and the cake was really yummy.

This may be the last birthday party for my Bonnie here at the house.  She’s twenty four this year.  She’s been looking into apartments and I’m not sure but with her boyfriend of 3 years they could get even more serious…  So even though it’s been a low key celebration, I will cherish this one in my mind.

5 responses

  1. Mary

    Your cake looks great! I always make homemade birthday cakes too ♥ and homemade icing is pretty quick and easy too!

    May 20, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    • Aw thanks! The frosting reminded me of Girl Scout Thin Mint cookies. Homemade rocks!

      May 21, 2012 at 8:33 am

  2. avian101

    Nice cake! Happy Two Dozen for your daughter! 🙂

    May 20, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    • 🙂 Thanks. What a journey…She was born premature and weighed 3 pounds. Now she’s taller (and way smarter) than me.

      May 21, 2012 at 8:28 am

      • avian101

        It must be because all that good food you fed her! 🙂

        May 21, 2012 at 10:34 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

